Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is the style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioural sciences. It provides invaluable guidance on all aspects of the writing process, from the ethics of authorship to the word choice that best reduces bias in language. Well-known for its authoritative and easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, and tone that will result in strong, simple, and elegant scientific communication.
The Complete Guide to Referencing and Avoiding Plagiarism [e-book] by 
Don't forget that for any inquiry regarding the reference process, you may always contact any librarian.
| Type of meterial | Works cited / Bibliography page |
|---|---|
| Book in print | Author, F. M. (Year of publication). Title of work. Publisher City, State: Publisher. |
| E-book in a database | Author, F. M. (Year of publication).Title of work. Retrieved from http://xxxxx OR doi:xxxxx |
| E-book from an e-reader | Author, F. M. (Year of publication).Title of work [E-reader version]. Retrieved from http://xxxxx OR doi:xxxxx |
| Journal article found online | Author, F. M. (Publication year). Article title. Periodical Title, Volume(Issue), pp.-pp. doi:XX.XXXXX OR Retrieved from journal URL |
| Journal article found in print | Author, F. M., Author, F. M, & Author, F. M. (Publication year). Article title. Periodical Title, Volume(Issue), pp.-pp. |
| Newspaper in print | Author, F. M. (Year, Month Date of publication). Article title. Newspaper Title, pp. xx-xx. |
| Online newspaper | Author, F. M. (Year, Month Date of publication). Article title. Newspaper Title. Retrieved from newspaper homepage URL * |
| Online report | Author, F. M. (Publication year). Title of report (Report No. XXX). Retrieved from Agency name website: URL |
| Print report | Author, F. M. (Publication year). Title of report (Report No. XXX). Publisher City, State: Publisher. |
| Scholarly project (thesis, dissertation, etc.) from a database | Author, F. M. (Publication year). Title of dissertation/thesis (Doctoral dissertation or Master’s thesis). Retrieved from Name of database. (Accession or Order No.) |
| Scholarly project (thesis, dissertation, etc.) from a website | Author, F. M. (Publication year). Title of dissertation/thesis (Doctoral dissertation or Master’s thesis). Retrieved from URL |
| Online lecture notes or presentation slides | Author, F. M. (Publication year). Name or title of lecture [file format]. Retrieved from URL |
| Encyclopedia entry in print | Author, F. M. (Publication year). Entry title. In Encyclopedia title.(Vol. XX, pp. XX-XX). City, State of publication: Publisher |
| Blog or podcast | Author, F. M. (Year, Month, Date of post). Title of blog post [Web log post]. Retrieved from URL of blog post |
| Musical recording | Songwriter F. M. (Copyright year). Song title [Recorded by F. M. Last (performer’s name/musical group)]. On Album title [Medium of recording]. City, State of label: Record label name. |
| Motion picture | Producer, F. M. (Producer), & Director, F.M. (Director). (Release year). Title of motion picture [Motion picture]. Country of origin: Studio. |
| Episode from TV or radio show | Writer, F. M. (Writer), & Director, F. M. (Director). (Year of airing). Episode title [Television series episode]. In F. M. Producer (Executive producer), TV series name. City, State of original channel: Channel. |
| Online dictionary entry | Defined word. (Publication year). In Website Title. Retrieved from URL |
| General website article with an author | Author, F. M. (Year, Month Date of publication). Article title. Retrieved from URL |
| General website article with no author | Article title. (Year, Month Date of publication). Retrieved from URL |
* You do not need to include retrieval information (e.g., date of access) in APA citations for electronic resources.
Source: EasyBib, APA Visual Guides [pdf]. Retrieved from http://www.easybib.com