Skip to main content

Humanities & Social Sciences Research Guide: Anthropology

Suggested books

Structural anthropology by Levi-Strauss, Claude.

Before social anthropology : essays on the history of British anthropology by Urry, James.

The Oxford handbook of refugee and forced migration studies by Fiddian-Qasmiyeh, Elena; Loescher, Gil; Long, Katy; Sigona, Nando.

European anthropologies by Barrera González, Andrés; Heintz, Monica; Horolets, Anna.

Suggested e-books

What Is Anthropology? by Eriksen, Thomas Hylland

Anthropologies : A Family Memoir by Alvarado Beth

Public Anthropology : Engaging Social Issues in the Modern World by Edward J Hedican

Anthropology : A Student's Guide to Theory and Method by Stanley R Barrett.

Glossaries & Dictionaries

Dictionary of Anthropology and Anthropologists

Web Resources

American Museum of Natural History: Division of Anthropology

Over 160,000 objects from North American, Mexican & Central American, South American, African, Asian, and Pacific Ethnographic Collections with images and detailed description, linked to the original catalogue pages, field notebooks, and photographs are available online).

Anthropological Papers of the American Museum of Natural History  The Anthropological Papers, published continuously since 1907, are monographic volumes that include some of the great ethnographies of the 20th century, particularly on North American Indians.

Anthropology Blogs: a collection of anthropology blogs and anthropology-related blogs - updated every 3 hours

Encyclopedia Mythica: Mythology & Folklore: The award-winning internet encyclopedia of mythology, folklore, and religion. Here you will find everything from A-gskw to Zveda Vechanyaya, with plenty in between.

The Folklore Wiki

Scout Report Archive: Anthropology A searchable archive of the best of the net's resources from the Scout Report, the Scout Report for Science & Engineering, the Scout Report for Social Sciences & Humanities, and the Scout Report for Business & Economics.  Resources are cataloged and browseable by Library of Congress Subject Headings.

World Council of Anthropological Association 

Anthropology online Journals the library subscribes to.

© 2018 ACT - Studies in Greece, 17 Sevenidi st., 55535, Pylea, Thessaloniki, Greece, Tel. +30 2310 398398
Find us on: The American College of Thessaloniki on LinkedIn ACT Blog Facebook Twitter YouTube Skype Me™! Flickr