Skip to main content

Humanities & Social Sciences Research Guide: Art History

Suggested books

Art : history : visual : culture / by Cherry Deborah.

Art history / by Stokstad, Marilyn; Grayson, Marion Spears; Addiss, Stephen.

Principles of art history : the problem of the development of style in later art / by Wolfflin, Heinrich; Hottinger, Marie Donald Mackie.

Suggested e-books

Art History and Fetishism Abroad : Global Shiftings in Media and Methods 

From Point to Pixel : A Genealogy of Digital Aesthetics 

Drawing on the Victorians : The Palimpsest of Victorian and Neo-Victorian Graphic Texts 

The Vienna School of Art History : Empire and the Politics of Scholarship, 1847–1918 

Glossaries & Dictionaries

ARTLEX ART DICTIONARY   For artists, collectors, students, and educators

Dictionary of Symbols

Glossary of Art Terms

Watercolor Glossary

Web Resourses

ART HISTORY RESOURCES ON THE WEB   A long established gateway to art history websites

ARTCYCLOPEDIA : THE GUIDE TO GREAT ART ONLINE 

The Art Newspaper

Art and Architecture Thesaurus - AAT
AAT is a structured vocabulary of around 34,000 concepts, including 131,000 terms, descriptions, bibliographic citations, and other information relating to fine art, architecture, decorative arts, archival materials, and material culture.

ArtsEdNet
The Getty Center in California provides this art education Web site with lesson plans, an online discussion group, and links to related Web sites.

AskArt.com
AskArt offers extensive information on over 52,000 American artists. Artists searchable by name.

The Getty 
One of the World's greatest collections of Western art from the Middle Ages to the present. European paintings, drawings, manuscripts, sculpture and decorative arts, and European and American photographs.

GOOGLE ART PROJECT   An online platform providing access to high-resolution images of works housed in the initiative’s partner museums

Virtual Library museums pages:  A distributed directory of on-line museums.

Voice of the Shuttle: Art (Modern and Contemporary)
Links to hundreds of sites including galleries and exhibitions, auctions, artists and works, art theory and politics, course syllabi, and teaching resources.

Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database

World Wide Arts Resources Index

Major World Online Galleries

THE LOUVRE (PARIS, FRANCE)

METROPOLITAN MUSEUM OF ART (NEW YORK, N.Y, USA) : HEILBRUNN TIMELINE OF ART HISTORY   The Museum’s collection presented via a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history

MUSEO NACIONAL DEL PRADO (MADRID, SPAIN)

MUSEU D’ART CONTEMPORANI DE BARCELONA (SPAIN)

MUSEUM OF MODERN ART (NEW YORK, N.Y, USA)

NATIONAL GALLERY (LONDON, UK)

NATIONAL GALLERY OF ART (WASHINGTON, D.C., USA)

SMITHSONIAN NATIONAL PORTRAIT GALLERY (WASHINGTON, D.C., USA)

TATE (UK)

UFFIZI GALLERY (FLORENCE, ITALY)

107 free, full text, quality controlled, scientific and scholarly journals on Arts & Architecture.

 

 

© 2018 ACT - Studies in Greece, 17 Sevenidi st., 55535, Pylea, Thessaloniki, Greece, Tel. +30 2310 398398
Find us on: The American College of Thessaloniki on LinkedIn ACT Blog Facebook Twitter YouTube Skype Me™! Flickr