Anatolia College Libraries: Humanities & Social Sciences Research Guide: Sociology

Suggested books

The art of sociological argument / by Crow, Graham.

Cultural studies : the basics / by Lewis, Jeff.

Sociology : a brief introduction / by Schaefer, Richard T.

Understanding social problems / by Mooney, Linda A; Knox, David; Schacht, Caroline.

Social Theory : Central Issues in Sociology
by John Scott

Doing Sociology : Case Studies in Sociological Practice
by Jammie Price

Contemporary Research in the Sociology of Education
by John Eggleston

International Origins of Social and Political Theory
by Tarak Barkawi, George Lawson, and Tarak Barkawi

The Society for the Psychological Study of Social Issues
UNHCR: The UN Refugee Agency
Harvard Social Science Research Engine
Listing of resources related to sociology and other social science fields.
The SocioLog
Listings of university sociology departments, professional associations, and research institutes.
Sociologydegree.com
information about U.S. sociology programs; includes available scholarships.
SocioSite
Collection of web sites organized into over 150 subject areas; also includes links to journals, data archives, publishers, and more.
The Socioweb: A Sociological Resource Center
Listing of sociological resources and research.
WWW Statistics Virtual Library
List of statistics departments around the world, data resources, and software packages.
Yahoo Sociology Index
Contains a variety of links to sociology databases, including a listing of sociology departments.
Knowledge Unlatched Collections- Taylor & Francis
Taylor & Francis have collaborated with Knowledge Unlatched to unlock two subject specific collections in Gender Studies and African Studies. These have been financed through libraries coming together to crowd fund to make titles Open Access and available to all.

Statistical Abstract of the United States (last issue: 2012) Summary of US social, political and economic statistics taken from Federal agencies and private organizations. New for 2013: ProQuest edition (subscription database)
American FactFinder American FactFinder contains data from surveys and censuses conducted by Census Bureau (nearly one hundred of them every year.). You can find economic, demographic or housing information about your city, county, state - or the entire United States.
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) Information on a range of educational issues, from early childhood to adult learning.
CDC (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) Health-related data and statistics.
Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) BJS collects, analyzes, publishes, and disseminates information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government
Patchwork Nation Patchwork Nation is a reporting project of the Jefferson Institute that aims to explore what is happening in the United States by examining different kinds of communities over time. The effort uses demographic, voting and cultural data to cluster and organize communities into “types of place.”

Guttmacher Institute Focuses on sexual and reproductive health.
Civilrights.org
National Criminal Justice Reference Service National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.
Start your research by selecting a topic from the menu on the left side.