Skip to main content

Eleftheriades Library: How to cite

Anatolia College Libraries

MLA Posters

MLA Style Guide

Purdue Online Writing Lab

Student's Guide to Citation Styles

Print sources

Books– Basic Format:
Author’s last name, first name. Title of Book: subtitle.  City of Publication:  Publisher, Year of Publication.

Examples for bibliographies
Blackburn, Simon. Think: A Compelling Introduction to Philosophy. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1999.
 
Fitzgerald, Terence J., ed.  Police in Society.  2nd ed. New York:  H.W. Wilson, 2000.
 
Cott, Nancy R., and Elizabeth H. Pleck, eds.  A Heritage of Her Own: Toward a New Social History of American Women. New York: Simon and Schuster, 1979.

Foucault, Michel. Madness and Civilization: A History of Insanity in the Age of Reason. Trans. Richard Howard. New York: Vintage-Random House, 1988.
Notes for bibliographies
  • Consult the title page, not the cover of the book.
  • Sometimes the date of publication is on the copyright page (reverse of tile page).
  • Treat a pdf document as a print document.
  • If the person named on the title page is the editor, rather than the author, add a comma then the abbreviation "ed." For subsequent editions of a book add the number of the edition after the title.
  • List the names in the order in which they appear on the title page.
  • Only the author's first name should be reversed
  • If a source has three or more authors reverse the first of the names and follow it with a comma and et al (“and others”)
  • Add "Trans."—the abbreviation for translated by—and follow with the name(s) of the translator(s).
  • The city of publication is no longer necessary at MLA. We do, however, still put it in.
  • Capitalize all words in English titles, except: a, an, the, at, by, for, in, of, on, to, up, and, as, but, it, or, nor. Also, capitalize the first word following a colon.
If you have used a book in Greek, you add it to your bibliography/works cited page, as follows:
Start with the author or the title of the book transliterated and continue with the rest of the reference in Greek
 
Examples
Daskalopoulos, Demetres and Maria Stasinopoulou

Δημήτρης Δασκαλόπουλος, και Μαρία Στασινοπούλου, Ο βίος και το έργο του Κ.Π. Καβάφη. Μεταίχμιο,   2002

Pickover, Clifford A. Χρόνος: οδηγός για ταξιδιώτες.  Κέδρος, 2008
 
Seferis, Giorgos

Σεφέρης, Γιώργος. Ποιήματα. 11η έκδοση. Ίκαρος, 1977.

Print Encyclopaedias and Dictionaries - Basic format

Author’s last name, first name. (if given) "Article Title: subtitle." Name of Encyclopaedia. Edition, Year of publication.

 
Examples for bibliographies
Faron, Louis C. "Inca." Encyclopaedia Americana. International Edition. 1999.

"Incas." Britannica School, Encyclopædia Britannica, 28 Mar. 2015. school.eb.co.uk/levels/intermediate/article/275040. Accessed 18 Oct. 2016.

«Ρομποτικός» Γ. Μπαμπινιώτη Λεξικό της Νέας Ελληνικής Γλώσσας.  2η έκδοση,  2002.

Print Newspaper and Periodical Articles - Basic format

Author’s last name, first name. "Title of Article: subtitle." Title of Magazine, Day Month Year: page numbers.

Examples for bibliographies
Risen, James, and Judy Thomas. "Pro-life Turns Deadly." Newsweek, 26 Jan. 1998: pp. 68-69.

Kincaid, Jamaica. “In History.” Callaloo, vol. 24, no. 2, Spring 2001, pp. 620-26.


Malaby, Thomas M. “Making Change in the New Europe: Euro Competence in   Greece”. Anthropological Quarterly, Summer 2002, pp. 591-597. 

Interview – Basic format
Name of the person interviewed. Kind of Interview. (Personal, Telephone, Electronic) Date.

Example
Barack Obama. Telephone interview. 20 November 2015

Electronic sources (Database articles, Videos, Movies, Internet sites, Internet images)

Because your sources - especially the online ones - are often found in locations other than the ones in which they were originally published, MLA 8 has introduced the concept of “Containers”.

Containers are the elements that “hold” the source. A container however, can be inside a larger container. “Each container provides useful information for a reader seeking to understand and locate the original source”

For example:
The complete back issues of a journal are stored in JSTOR or EBSCO database

  • A book of short stories is read on Google Books
  • A television series maybe watched on YouTube.
  • An excerpt of a novel may be collected in a textbook.
Sample page with 1 container Sample page with 2 containers
Sample page with 1 container Sample page with 2 containers
Examples for bibliographies


Halsall, Paul. Internet Modern History Sourcebook. History Department of Fordham University, New York, 1/26/1996. www.fordham.edu/halsall/mod/modsbook38.html#Literary%20Responses. Accessed 30 Nov. 2012.

“Under the Gun.” Pretty Little Liars, season 4, episode 6, ABC family, 16 July 2013. Hulu,  www.hulu.com/watch/511318. Accessed 27 Oct. 2015.

Goldman, Ann. “Questions of Transport: Reading Primo Levi Reading Dante.” The Georgia Review, Vol. 64, no.1, 2010 pp. 69-88. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable41403188.  Accessed 25 Oct. 2015.

Notes for bibliographies
  • The “Medium of Publication” is no longer necessary (i.e. do not use “Print”, “Web”)
  • URLs should always be used, at the end of the bibliographic reference
  • Use “Access date”, after the URL.
  • Use online usernames and other pseudonyms like regular author names.
  • Consistency and Completeness are most important for the IB.
  • If you must choose between the MLA style guide and the IB projects guide requirements, always do what the IB says (for example, The MLA no longer requires the city of publication, unless the book was published before 1900. The IBO, however, still requires it).
  • For bibliographic purposes, treat a pdf document as a print document
© 2017 Anatolia High School, P.O. Box 21021, 55510, Thessaloniki, Greece, Tel. +30 2310 398200