Skip to main content

Eleftheriades Library: MLA 8 Examples

Anatolia College Libraries
Type of Material Examples:  Works Cited/Bibliography page Examples:  in-text citations

Book with one author or editor

Blackburn, Simon. Think: a compelling introduction to philosophy. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1999.

Fitzgerald, Terence J., ed.  Police in Society.  2nd ed. New York:  H.W. Wilson, 2000.

(Blackburn 30)

(Fitzgerald 150)

Book with no author

New York Public Library American History Desk Reference. New York: Macmillan, 1997.  

The Salonika Theatre of Operations and the Outcome of the Great War. 16-18 April 2002, Thessaloniki – Greece, Institute of Balkan Studies, 2005.

(New York Public 199-203)

(The Salonika Theatre  150-160)

Book with two authors or editors Cott, Nancy R., and Elizabeth H. Pleck, eds.  A Heritage of Her Own: Toward a New Social History of American Women. New York: Simon and Schuster, 1979. (Cott and Pleck 252)
Book with three or more authors. List the first author followed by “et al.” Wysocki, Anne Frances, et al. Writing New Media: Theory and Applications for Expanding the Teaching of Composition. Utah State UP, 2004. (Wysocki et al. 34)
Books with translator Foucault, Michel. Madness and Civilization: A History of Insanity in the Age of Reason. Trans.  Richard Howard. New York: Vintage-Random House, 1988. (Foucault 200)
A Greek book in an English bibliography

Daskalopoulos, Demetres and Maria Stasinopoulou 

Δημήτρης Δασκαλόπουλος και Μαρία Στασινοπούλου, Ο βίος και το έργο του Κ.ΠΚαβάφη. Athina: Metaichmio, 2002.

(Dascalopoulos and Stasinopoulou 80)

Seferis, Giorgos

Σεφέρης, Γιώργος. "Φυγή". Ποιήματα. 8η έκδοση. Athina: Ikaros, 1972.

(Seferis 95)
Multiple works by the same author

Brown, Robert. Poetry at Rest. London: Penguin, 2001.

---.. Poetry in Motion. London: Penguin, 2001.

(Brown, Poetry in Motion 47)
e-books Cooley, Angela Jill. To Live And Dine In Dixie : The Evolution Of Urban Food Culture In The Jim Crow South. Athens: University of Georgia Press, 2015. e-book Collection (EBSCOhost). http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,url,cookie&db=nlebk&bquery=EC+CKB*&cli0=NL&clv0=Y&type=0&site=ehost-live.  Accessed 1 Feb. 2017. (Cooley 92)
Organizations as authors

If the organization name is long, reference the name in the text

i.e. According to a study sponsored by the National Science Foundation, the U.S. workforce is not prepared for more intense global competition for high-skilled jobs.

(13)
Encyclopedias, Print "Inca." Encyclopaedia Americana. International Edition. 1999. (“Inca” Encycl. Americana 4:45)
Encyclopedias Online "Inca." Britannica SchoolEncyclopædia Britannica, 28 Mar. 2015. school.eb.co.uk/levels/intermediate/article/275040. Accessed 18 Oct. 2016. (“Inca”, Britannica)
Dictionaries, Print "Ideology." The American Heritage Dictionary. 3rd ed., 1997. (“Ideology”, AHD)
Dictionaries Online

"Philosophy." Meriam-Webster. Merriam-Webster, www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/philosophy. Accessed 30 January 2017

(“Philosophy”, Merriam-Webster)
Newspaper Articles, Online Haberman, Maggie. "A Homebody Finds the Ultimate Home Office." New York Times. 25 January 2017. https://www.nytimes.com/2017/01/25/us/politics/president-trump-white-house.html. Accessed 2 February 2017. (Haberman)
Periodicals, Print Risen, James, and Judy Thomas. "Pro-life Turns Deadly." Newsweek, 26 Jan. 1998: pp. 68-69. (Risen 69)
Periodicals, Online

Goldman, Ann. "Questions of Transport: Reading Primo Levi Reading Dante." The Georgia Review. Vol. 64. no. 1, 2010 pp. 69-88. JSTOR www.jstor.org/stable4103188. Accessed 25 Oct. 2015

Alter, Charlotte, et al. “The Truth Is Out There.” Time, vol. 188, no. 15, 17 Oct. 2016, Academic Search Premier [EBSCO], search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,url,cookie&db=aph&AN=118679594&site=ehost-live. Accessed 30 January 2017

(Goldman 80)

(Alter et al.)

Poem in a collection Stevens, Wallace. “Sunday Morning” The Collected Poems of Wallace Stevens, Vintage-Random, 1990, pp. 66-70. (Stevens, “Sunday Morning” 11-12)
Work of Art. Painting, Sculpture, or Photograph Goya, Francisco. The Family of Charles IV. 1800, oil on canvas, 280x336 cm. Museo del Prado, Madrid. (Goya, The family of Charles IV)
Work of Art. Reproduction in a book Goya, Francisco. The Family of Charles IV. 1800, oil on canvas, Museo del Prado, Madrid. Gardener's Art Through the Ages10th ed., by Richard G. Tansey and Fred S. Kleiner, Harcourt Brace, p. 939. (Goya)
Work of Art. Online Picasso, Pablo. Three Musicians. 1921, oil on canvas, Museum of Modern Art, New York. Wikipedia, 2006. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Picasso_three_musicians_moma_2006.jpg. Accessed 1 February 2017. (Picasso, Three Musicians)
Image. Online Camacho, Tony. “Baobab tree”. Photograph. Britannica ImageQuestEncyclopædia Britannica, 25 May 2016. quest.eb.com/search/132_1199798/. Accessed 30 Jan. 2017 (Camacho)
Website, page Potter, Michelle. "Zora Neale Hurston: A Literary Life." LiteraryTraveler.com n.d. 1 November 2000. www.literarytraveler.com/articles/zora-neale-hurston-a-literary-life/  Accessed 11 December 2016 (Potter)
Films. List films by their title. The Usual Suspects. Directed by Bryan Singer, Polygram, 1995. (Usual Suspects)
Films. To emphasize specific Lucas, George, director. Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope. Twentieth Century Fox, 1977. (Star Wars Ep. IV)
Video, Youtube International Baccalaureate. Education for a Better World: the IB Middle Years ProgramYoutube Video, 27 January 2014. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=totPPqjoP1c. Accessed 1 February 2017. (Education for a Better World)
Film on Netflix The Usual Suspects. Directed by Bryan Singer, performances by Kevin Spacey, Gabriel Byrne, Chazz Palminteri, Stephen Baldwin, and Benecio del Toro, Polygram, 1995. Netflix, www.netflix.com/watch/ Accessed 17 January 2017 (Usual Suspects)
Interview

Berger, John. Telephone interview. 20 November 2015

Gaitskill, Mary. Interview with Charles Bock. Mississippi Review, vol. 27, no. 3, 1999, pp. 129-50.

(Berger)

(Gaitskill 131-135)

Tweet @realDonaldTrump. “I will be having a general news conference on JANUARY ELEVENTH in N.Y.C. Thank you.” Twitter, 3 Jan. 2017, 6:58 p.m., twitter.com/realDonaldTrump/status/ (Trump Tweet, 3 Jan. ‘17)
Speech, Transcript Obama, Barack. “President Obama’s Farewell Address.” The White House, The United States Government, 10 Jan. 2017, www.whitehouse.gov/farewell. Accessed 15 January 2017 (Obama's Ferewell Address)
Music, Song or Album Online Beyoncé. “Pray You Catch Me.” Lemonade, Parkwood Entertainment, 2016, www.beyonce.com/album/lemonade-visual-album/. (Beyoncé “Pray”)

 

MLA Containers

MLA Containers

© 2017 Anatolia High School, P.O. Box 21021, 55510, Thessaloniki, Greece, Tel. +30 2310 398200