Why are mutating mosquitoes humankind's worst enemy? Which dinosaurs let loose some deafening farts? Why do rabbits eat their own poo? Get the awful answers to those queasy questions in this horrible book of science.
Take a world tour between the covers of a book! Environments of Our Earth guides children through six types of regions that are shaped by rainfall--or the lack thereof. Readers take a journey that starts with dense tropical rainforests and woodlands, travels through grassy savannahs and prairies, and ends at dry steppes and deserts. Throughout the book, attentive readers can compare how and why each region is alike and different. They will also discover fun facts about the wettest and driest places on Earth and the amazing effect rainfall has on plants, animals, and people. Environments of Our Earth is part of the I Wonder Why book series, written to ignite the curiosity of children in grades K-6 while encouraging them to become avid readers. These books explore the marvels of geology, land forms, weather, environments, and other phenomena related to science and nature. Included in each volume is a Parent/Teacher Handbook with coordinating activities. The I Wonder Why series is written by an award-winning science educator and published by NSTA Kids, a division of NSTA Press.
Lets you discover who made false teeth for an elephant; where you can find dragons with bad breath; and, which scientist ate a poisonous snake for dinner. This book also features grizzly bears, facts about wolves and some savage shark stories.
Welcome to the museum! There are more than 200 animal specimens to be discovered in 'Animalium', the first in a series of virtual museums. Wander the galleries - open 365 days a year - and discover a collection of curated exhibits on every page, accompanied by informative text. Each chapter features a different branch of the tree of life, from the simple sponge to the enormous elephant.
Children who love both animals and a rousing game of I Spy will have fun with this book. To give kids practice identifying similarities and differences, the book starts by pairing easy-to-distinguish animals, such as zebras and horses. Then it moves on to duos that are more difficult to tell apart, such as turtles and tortoises and seals and sea lions. Reading Animals Two by Two is like taking a walk through the zoo with an eagle-eyed friend--one who wants to know if you can spot the differences between a frog and a toad or a mole and a vole! Animals Two by Two is part of the I Wonder Why book series, written to ignite the curiosity of children in grades K-3 while encouraging them to become avid readers. These books explore the marvels of animals, plants, and other phenomena related to biology. Included in each volume is a Parent/Teacher Handbook with coordinating activities. The I Wonder Why series is written by an award-winning science educator and published by NSTA Kids, a division of NSTA Press.
This highly praised series of books has been in print since the 1950s (launched originally by Franklin Watts himself). Today's First Books provide engaging, in-depth introductions to subjects in all areas of the middle-grade curriculum, including science, social studies, and the arts. Illustrated with color and historical photography and art, each First Book is chaptered, includes an index, a "For Further Reading" list and, where appropriate, a glossary and original maps.
Flies are fast! They can hover, walk upside down, and use their lightning-quick reflexes to escape predators. But rainbow trout, slender lorises, and assassin bugs can catch them. Chimney swifts can, too. How do such diverse creatures manage to capture the same prey? Similar in structure to What Do You Do with a Tail Like This?, this eye-popping picture book introduces readers to a menagerie of animals that approach the same challenges in very different ways.
'Project X, Origins' is a ground-breaking guided reading programme for the whole school. Action-packed stories, fascinating non-fiction and comprehensive guided reading support meet the needs of children at every stage of their reading development.
This atlas brings together the world animals in their habitats, from the African savanna to the Arctic polar regions. Arranged by geographical area, each section shows how various species live and interact within their environment through colorful maps, photographs and illustrations.
What do carnivorous animals eat? Mostly other animals! Find out what classifies an animal as a 'carnivore,' as well as how common features like tooth shape reflect an animal's diet. This book provides an in-depth look at a wide range of fascinating animals from around the world and explores the relationships between animals.
Now you see them, now you don't! By showing the same creatures in two different settings, this book brings out the detective in young readers. They can investigate the role of protective coloration-- nature's own camouflage--for katydids, crickets, bumblebees, beavers, spiders, and spotted green frogs. The vivid examples encourage children to closely examine the characteristics of hidden creatures that may be looking back at them, whether from the pages of this book or in their own backyards. Looking for Animals is part of the I Wonder Why book series, written to ignite the curiosity of children in grades K-3 while encouraging them to become avid readers. These books explore the marvels of animals, plants, and other phenomena related to biology. Included in each volume is a Parent/Teacher Handbook with coordinating activities. The I Wonder Why series is written by an award-winning science educator and published by NSTA Kids, a division of NSTA Press.
'Lifesize Rainforest' offers a unique opportunity to see a variety of amazing creatures at their actual size. Unbelievable, eye-catching illustrations show beautiful scenes and perspectives; the artwork is as vibrant and real as a photograph, but better!
This series reflects the range of non-fiction texts children will come across in the real world, from guidebooks to cookbooks. They are ideal for topic libraries and for teaching literacy skills in a curriculum context.
Science with even more squishy bits left in! Horrible Science is getting a make-over! With a fantastic new cover look and extra horrible bits at the back of the book, these best-selling titles are sure to be a huge hit with a new generation of Horrible Science readers.
Features over 100 insects and spiders! Tarantulas can grow up to ten inches across. Monarch butterflies migrate from Canada to Mexico each year. Praying mantis females sometimes eat males during mating. Readers will find hundreds of eye-opening facts in this invaluable and accessible introduction to insects and spiders. Every major group of insects and arachnids -- from butterflies to beetles to scorpions -- is included, with full-color pictures, larger-than-life-size photos, and a concise and informative text. A must for libraries and science collections, as well as anyone with an interest in the most numerous and varied species on earth.
Every summer children enjoy watching fireflies twinkling in the twilight, but after reading this book, they'll see the insects with new eyes. Share Next Time You See a Firefly with a child. Discover why fireflies flash and how they live secret lives underground before coming out to fill the evening with their glimmers of light. Together you'll also realise that if you catch fireflies, you must let them go: Fireflies have a lot to do! Awaken a sense of wonder in a child with the Next Time You See series from NSTA Kids. The books will inspire elementary-age children to experience the enchantment of everyday phenomena such as insects, seashells, and sunsets. Free supplementary activities are available on the NSTA website. Especially designed to be experienced with an adult--be it a parent, teacher, or friend--Next Time You See books serve as a reminder that you don't have to look far to find something remarkable in nature.
Winter is coming and a bee flies off in search of the last flowers of autumn. Her mission is dangerous but very important. The bees in the hive need the flowers to make honey or they won't survive the long, cold months ahead.
This volume takes an in-depth look at the lives and habitats of sharks, exploring a range of species and their behaviour - feeding, courtship, and raising young. It takes an ecological stand-point, and provides information about threats to these animals, and what is being done about them.
This top-selling series introduces the wild creatures of the world and examines the natural world. Good general introductions for ages 10+, these volumes contain the knowledge, personal experiences, and research of leading naturalists and scientists, accompanied by stunning photography. Unless otherwise noted (*), all volumes are sturdy paperback.
Young naturalists meet sixteen birds in this elegant introduction to the many uses of feathers. A concise main text highlights how feathers are not just for flying. More curious readers are invited to explore informative sidebars, which underscore specific ways each bird uses its feathers for a variety of practical purposes. A scrapbook design showcases life-size feather illustrations.
This series takes readers on a journey through the night to discover nocturnal animals living in their own backyards at night. Each title focuses on a specific animal, showcasing its behaviour, habitat, and diet.
Let's go on a wildlife safari! Watch as a giraffe rips leaves from tall trees. Sneak a peek at a lion on the hunt. Explore each animal's habitat, life cycle, behaviour, and threats to see why African animals are awesome!
A gorgeously illustrated nonfiction book about the polar bear, this is a factually accurate as well as a poetic exploration of polar bear bodies, habits, and habitats. Working in a painterly, expressive way, Jenni Desmond creates landscapes and creatures that are marked by atmosphere and emotion, telling a story about bears that engages the reader's interest in amazing facts as well as their deep sense of wonder. A graduate of the renowned MA program in Children's Book Illustration at the Cambridge School of Art (ARU),Jenni Desmond works from her studio in London, UK. This, her second book for Enchanted Lion, will be followed by one about elephants.