Louise Bourgeois (1911-2010) was a world-renowned modern artist noted for her sculptures made of wood, steel, stone, and cast rubber. Her most famous spider sculpture, Maman, stands more than 30 feet high. Just as spiders spin and repair their webs, Louise's own mother was a weaver of tapestries. Louise spent her childhood in France as an apprentice to her mother before she became a tapestry artist herself. She worked with fabric throughout her career, and this biographical picture book shows how Bourgeois's childhood experiences weaving with her loving, nurturing mother provided the inspiration for her most famous works. With a beautifully nuanced and poetic story, this book stunningly captures the relationship between mother and daughter and illuminates how memories are woven into us all.
I love this tree is a book which looks at the life of an old living deciduous tree and through it explores the amazing life of a tree and the creatures that inhabit it. Using a mixture of photos and artwork the book shows how the tree has changed and how it acts as a habitat for other life. This beautiful book explores how important trees are to the planet. Packed with information and pictures it provides a wealth of information about trees and their importance and inspires a love of these amazing plants. It's a fantastic resource for the Science Curriculum with its emphasis on plants, classification and habitats, for children aged 8+. Shortlisted for the 2016 SLA information book award in the 7-12 category and the 2016 English 4-11 picture book awards. 'Close to my house, there's a beautiful, huge, spreading tree. I see it every day. We walk past it on the way to school, and hear the wind rustling through it at night. How long has that tree been standing there? If the tree wasn't there any more, I would miss it all the time. But it's not just me - so many animals depend on it too...' 'A really thorough, charming exploration of the lives of trees and their importance in the world' - School Librarian
What happens when you invite as many jazz musicians as you can to pose for a photo in 1950s Harlem? Playful verse and glorious artwork capture an iconic moment for American jazz. When Esquire magazine planned an issue to salute the American jazz scene in 1958, graphic designer Art Kane pitched a crazy idea: how about gathering a group of beloved jazz musicians and photographing them? He didn’t own a good camera, didn’t know if any musicians would show up, and insisted on setting up the shoot in front of a Harlem brownstone. Could he pull it off? In a captivating collection of poems, Roxane Orgill steps into the frame of Harlem 1958, bringing to life the musicians’ mischief and quirks, their memorable style, and the vivacious atmosphere of a Harlem block full of kids on a hot summer’s day. Francis Vallejo’s vibrant, detailed, and wonderfully expressive paintings do loving justice to the larger-than-life quality of jazz musicians of the era. Includes bios of several of the fifty-seven musicians, an author’s note, sources, a bibliography, and a foldout of Art Kane’s famous photograph.
We all have a mind, so we all need to take care of our mental health as much as we need to take care of our physical health. And the first step is being able to talk about our mental health. James Dawson leads the way with this frank, factual and funny book, with added information and support from clinical psychologist Dr Olivia Hewitt. Covering topics from anxiety and depression to addiction, self-harm and personality disorders, James and Olivia talk clearly and supportively about a range of issues facing young people's mental health - whether fleeting or long-term - and how to manage them, with real-life stories from young people around the world.
Minamoto Yoshitsune should not have been a samurai. But his story is legend in this real-life saga. This epic warrior tale reads like a novel, but this is the true story of the greatest samurai in Japanese history. When Yoshitsune was just a baby, his father went to war with a rival samurai family--and lost. His father was killed, his mother captured, and his surviving half-brother banished. Yoshitsune was sent away to live in a monastery. Skinny, small, and unskilled in the warrior arts, he nevertheless escaped and learned the ways of the samurai. When the time came for the Minamoto clan to rise up against their enemies, Yoshitsune answered the call. His daring feats and impossible bravery earned him immortality.
At last, all those weird but true facts that readers of National Geographic Kids love so much are collected into a fun-filled book that you’ll come back to again and again! Weird But True is based on the hugely popular magazine page of quirky, fun facts that many readers of National Geographic Kids magazine turn to first. Why? Well did you know that... Peanut butter can be converted into a diamond? The world’s oldest pet goldfish lived to be 43 years old? The world’s longest soap bubble was as long as four school buses? On Neptune, the wind blows up to 1,243 miles an hour? An elephant’s tooth can weigh as much as a bowling ball? All of the facts in this handy book will amaze friends and family: Animals Superpowers...Chills and Thrills...Eat or Be Eaten...Mini and Mega...Wild and Crazy, and much, much more. Adjacent pages for such facts present a one-paragraph explanation of how that fact is possible or why it is so. Wacky facts, fascinating information, and lively art combine in this easy-to-browse, casual reference book that is sure to give young readers hours of fun.
Τί είναι, αλήθεια, το ταλέντο; Στο παιχνίδι της δημιουργικότητας, συχνά όλα ξεκινούν από μια ασήμαντη αφορμή. Για τη μικρή Λία η αφορμή θα είναι μια...τελεία!
Στην αρχή υπάρχει μια άρνηση, ύστερα μια έκπληξη και τέλος... χμμμ... στην ιστορία μας δεν υπάρχει τέλος, υπάρχει μόνο μια σπουδαία αρχή!
Μια ευρηματική ιστορία για το ταλέντο και τις ικανότητες που κρύβει καθένας από μας.
Γραφή και ανάγνωση, γραμματική και αριθμητική, ρητορική και γεωμετρία, μουσική και αστρονομία, φιλοσοφία. Να τι μελετούσαν οι μαθητές στα βυζαντινά σχολεία. Τα παιδιά πήγαιναν στο σχολείο με τα καθημερινά τους ρούχα. Έτρωγαν εκεί το μεσημέρι, στο διάλειμμα, και το φαγητό τους ήταν ψωμί, τυρί και συχνά παστό ψάρι. Έγραφαν με τον στύλον, που είχε μυτερή ακίδα στο ένα άκρο, ώστε τα γράμματα να χαράσσονται εύκολα, αλλά πεπλατυσμένη στο άλλο, για να σβήνουν. Αντί για τετράδια είχαν ξύλινες πινακίδες, τα σχεδάρια, που τις κουβαλούσαν στον μάρσιπο, δηλαδή την τσάντα τους...
Retold from traditional sources and accompanied by David Wisniewski's unique cut-paper illustrations, Golem is a dramatic tale of supernatural forces invoked to save an oppressed people. It also offers a thought-provoking look at the consequences of unleashing power beyond human control. The afterword discusses the legend of the golem and its roots in the history of the Jews. A Caldecott Medal Book.
"Not for the faint-hearted, Lon Po Po (Grandmother Wold), is a tale of a menacing danger and courage....(Young's) command of page composition and his sensitive use of color give the book a visual force that matches the strength of the story and stands as one of the illustrator's best efforts." --Booklist"Absolutely splendid." -- Kirkuse Reviews. "An extraordinary and powerful book." -- Publisher's Weekly
Two of the biggest names in children's publishing, Michael Rosen and Chris Riddell, come together in this poetry collection. The poems fizz off the page with sound and rhythm, energy and laughter, as Rosen captures in the most remarkable way what it means to be very, very young.
Silly, fantastical, romantic, thought-provoking. This collection includes 101 classic poems that every child should read! Find Tennyson, Keats, Shelley, Wordsworth, Edward Lear, Emily Dickinson, Shakespeare, and many more. The poems are organized by theme, and lively introductions provide information on the poets and their craft.
This is a rich and varied collection of poems - all of them chosen by children aged from five to 15. Highwaymen and naughty children, sharks and baboons, the Snitterjipe and the Jabberwocky, all have their part to play.
Do you like poems? Are you sure you know what one is?! Join popular poet Roger Stevens for a trip through the different types of poetry: from advertising jingles to football chants, and from free verse to rap. Then, why not have a go at writing a poem of your own?
Delve into literature and discover exactly what a poem is. What makes a great poem? How does rhyme work? What is a shape poem? Can poems be funny? Using great examples from past and present, this book explains clearly what is meant by poetry, then prompts children to write their own!
Αφού πέρασε το εκφραστικό μου άγγιγμα από τους ενήλικους, στάθηκα μαζί με τα παιδιά να ξανακοιτάξω απ΄ την αρχή τον κόσμο, προσπαθώντας να δω σαν μέσα απ' την παρθένα ματιά των παιδιών και να μιμηθώ τη δροσερή τους αφέλεια.
Έτσι άρχισα να παίζω το ρόλο του παιδιού και να κάνω παιχνίδι την τέχνη μου μ' έναν τρόπο που πιστεύω πως το παιδί αναγνώστης ή ακροατής θα ήθελε να ιδιοποιηθεί.
Κι όπως έκανα τις λέξεις μου παιχνίδι, προσκάλεσα τα παιδιά να παίξουμε και να πετάξουμε μ' άλλους ρυθμούς στη φαντασία, με σκοπό να μπουν σε κίνηση οι δημιουργικές δυνάμεις των παιδιών
Μια ξεχωριστή διασκευή της πιο τρυφερής και πολυτραγουδισμένης ιστορίας της κρητικής λογοτεχνίας, γραμμένη για παιδιά. Το όμορφο κείμενό της, ζωντανεμένο με εικόνες αληθινά ποιητικές, συνοδευμένο από μια εκπληκτική, πρωτότυπη μουσική, θα σας κάνει να ζήσετε τις περιπέτειες και τα παθήματα του Ερωτόκριτου και της Αρετούσας. Μια ιστορία αληθινά συναρπαστική, που σίγουρα θα την αγαπήσετε και θα θελήσετε να τη διαδώσετε, όπως ακριβώς έκαναν και οι προηγούμενες γενιές.