Anatolia College Libraries: How to access our Online Library: APA PsycBooks

Overview

APA PsycBooks is an extensive collection of peer-reviewed books that provides students, researchers, and educators access to high-quality publications in psychology and related fields.

APA PsycBooks includes the newest scholarly and professional books published by APA including reference works from the APA Handbooks in Psychology® Series that delve deep into specific subfields within psychology.

Key benefits of APA PsycBooks:

Get straight to the content needed with chapter-level viewing and downloading
Stay current in the field through monthly updates that include new releases
Access exclusive and essential reference books with the only electronic release of the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology, and the inclusion of the entire multi-volume reference book series APA Handbooks in Psychology
Quickly locate hard-to-find and out-of-print books with an extensive backlist and classic titles dating back to the 1600s

Training Material

Tips & Training

APA Databases & Electronic Resources Blog – news about APA Databases, including announcements about training sessions
Webinar Training – sessions for students and faculty, librarians and individual subscribers
Video Tutorials – for APA Databases on APA PsycNet, EBSCOhost, ProQuest and OvidSP
Search Guides – platform-specific training materials, including Quick Reference Guides
Topic Guides – tips for searching APA Databases for a particular topic area

Documentation

Classification Codes – categorizing database content by primary subject matter
Field Guide – quick definitions of the fields in APA Databases
Record Structures – in-depth information on the searchable fields in:
- APA PsycInfo, APA PsycArticles, APA PsycBooks and APA PsycCritiques (PDF, 879KB)
- APA PsycExtra (PDF, 386KB)

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

APA PsycBooks is a database of full-text book chapters from scholarly titles published by APA Books^® and others.

The database includes an extensive collection of APA Books, including the most current and previously published scholarly and professional titles, all volumes from the APA Handbooks in Psychology Series, Classic Books, and the exclusive electronic release of the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology. The Encyclopedia of Psychology contains more than 1,500 authored entries.

To access APA PsycBooks database go to the A-Z List of Databases under the "Collection" tab from Bissell Library homepage https://anatolia.libguides.com/bissell/ and find PsyBOOKS. Then, you will prompt to input your ACT credential to access the database and then click on "Remote Access to e-resources" button.

APA PsycBooks is updated monthly.

To search the database you can simply visit the following training material:

APA Databases on EBSCOhost (Youtube Playlist for all APA products)
The Search Help and Training Center from APA, has search guides and other useful information specific to each vendor system that provides APA PsycInfo databases, including APA PsycBooks. APA PsycBooks-specific training videos are also available.
For help with a specific search strategy, email us bissell@act.edu. We can give you suggestions about what terms to search and help you if what you've searched for already isn't giving you the information you want.

APA PsycBooks contains books published by APA Books, all volumes from the APA Handbooks in Psychology series, and others. Browse the complete list of titles.

Classic Books are books selected as landmark titles in psychology—these titles are typically out of print. APA PsycNet, along with most vendor platforms, gives you the option to limit your search to Classic Books only.