Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Academic Content due to COVID-19

The content below is provided on a non-exhaustive basis, but will be updated regularly. It is based on publicly available information. We welcome additional ideas, references and suggestions. Enjoy!

Annual Reviews

Annual Reviews is a nonprofit publisher dedicated to synthesizing and integrating knowledge for the progress of science and the benefit of society.

OER Commons

undefinedOER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve the curriculum.

Project Gutenberg

undefined

Project Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks. Choose among free e-pub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, with a focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired. Thousands of volunteers digitized and diligently proofread the eBooks, for enjoyment and education.

Google Scholar

Search directly in the following search box.

Google Scholar Search

Open Culture

Find over 150 courses, textbooks, MOOCs many from leading universities, that will deepen your professional education. Topics include finance, technology, entrepreneurship and much more.

Get free History courses online from the world's leading universities. You can download these audio & video courses straight to your computer or mp3 player.

Get free Computer Science courses online from the world's leading universities. You can download these audio & video courses straight to your computer or mp3 player.

Get free Math courses online from the world's leading universities.

Get free Economics courses online from the world's leading universities.

Get free Political Science courses from the world's leading universities.

Get free Psychology courses online from the world's leading universities

Free Philosophy e-Books

undefinedLife-changing Books

This is a readers' choice list of life-changing books you can enjoy reading online for free.

Open Access Directories

ROAR- Directory of Open Access Scholarly Resources is a new service implemented by the ISSN International Centre. ROAD provides a free access to a selection of worldwide, multidisciplinary scholarly resources in open access that have been identified by the ISSN Network. This paper will present ROAD background, its innovative concept and how it is positioned in the open access ecosystem.

DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent. All funding is via donations, 18% of which comes from sponsors and 82% from supporters and publisher supporters. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed in DOAJ. All data is freely available.

DOAJ operates an education and outreach program across the globe, focusing on improving the quality of applications submitted.

DOAB- Directory of Open Access Books is an online directory that indexes and provides access to academic OA peer-reviewed books. Currently, it includes 5524 Academic peer-reviewed books from165 publishers.

Open Book Publishers (OBP) is an open access academic book publisher based in the United Kingdom. It is a non-profit social enterprise and community interest company (CIC) that promotes open access for full academic monographs, critical editions and textbooks in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Mathematics and Science. All OBP books are peer-reviewed.

© 2021 ACT - Studies in Greece, 17 Sevenidi st., 55535, Pylea, Thessaloniki, Greece, Tel. +30 2310 398398, Bissell Library +30 2310 398390
Find us on: The American College of Thessaloniki on LinkedIn ACT Blog Facebook Twitter YouTube Skype Me™! Flickr