Business Research Guide: Marketing

Journal Rankings List in Marketing by SJR- Scimajo Journal and Country Rank.

• Daily Telegraph
• The Guardian
• The Independent
• Le Monde
• Der Spiegel
• El Pais

• Advertising

  • Trendwatching

    Netherlands Marketing company that uses 8,000+ trend spotters scan the globe for emerging consumer trends. Resulting in free Trends Briefing monthly. Briefings are varied in scope and illustrated with photos of relevant examples. There is a also a index that goes back to 2008. Signing up the Trends Briefing is free, other materials from this website are fee-based.

    Interbrand's Best Global Brands

    Focusing on brand recognition, this consultancy provides this report to that measures the value of global brands.

    Top 100 Most Valuable Global Brands

    In conjunction with The Financial Times, Bloomberg and Datamonitor, Millward Brown Optimor has developed the BrandZ Top 100 Most Powerful Brands. At its simplest, brands that have more loyal customers have higher values, and brands with high voltage are likely to have much stronger growth prospects.

    PromoProf

    Maintained by Prof. Govani at Babson College, this guide has several useful links including Media: Kits-rates-ratings broken down by media type.
  • Television Bureau of Advertising

    A wealth of information including reports, data, and analysis under Markets and Stations, Media Comparisons (includes all types of media including social media), Research, Industry Trends, and Political (covers political ad spending and presidential campaigns).
  • Video Advertising Bureau

    Provides downloadable profiles of cable networks that include data on viewership demographics and lifestyle. Network profiles can also be browsed by multicultural groups, demographics, sports categories, gender, and programming.
  • Word of Mouth Advertising

    Check the blog and resources links to find articles, book chapters, videos, and slides on various aspect of word of mouth marketing.

• Consumer Analysis Resources

  • American Factfinder

    An excellent source for finding demographic information for all US states, counties, and regions.
  • American Time Use Survey (BLS)

    Measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work; childcare; volunteering; and socializing
  • Consumer Expenditure Survey (BLS)

    The consumer expenditure survey provides information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics.
  • eMarketer

    Provides updated data, statistics and analysis on the Internet, e-business, online marketing, media and emerging technologies. Useful for understanding the growth and impact of the Internet, and for keeping abreast of new trends, such as social networking and mobile marketing.
  My Best Segments (Nielsen)
  Find top consumer segments by zip code along with a brief snapshot covering each segment's demographic and lifestyle characteristics.
  • Passport Global Market Information Database (GMID)

    GMID provides marketing data and reports on countries, companies, markets, and consumers internationally. It covers consumer market sizes; forecasts; consumer lifestyles; company share and brand share data; market analysis and industry reports; and comments on demographic, economic, social and political issues; global market trends and outlook etc. Industries covered include alcoholic drinks, automotive parts, consumer electronics, DIY, eyewear, food, health and wellness etc.
  • ReferenceUSA

    Use the Consumer / Lifestyle database for market research, and to understand the buying habits of groups of consumers. Consumers are rated on purchase preferences across nineteen categories and several dozen sub-categories. Ratings are based of on frequency rates (how often purchases in a category are made) and volume (how much is spent in a given category). Data is compiled from multiple opt-in resources, and results are a blend of purchase preference information with household and census type data.
  • SimplyMap

    SimplyMap is a web-based mapping application that allows you to create thematic maps and reports using demographic, business and marketing data. Data can be downloaded for use with other software such as Excel and GIS. Demographic, income, and expenditure data can be searched by state, county, zip code, and census tract. Available reports include summaries, comparisons, rankings, and maps.
  • Statista

    Find statistics on consumer behavior and attitudes from a variety of government and commercial sources.
  • Stats America

    Great resource for finding statistics on economy, education, population, housing, workforce and many other topics at various geographic levels.
  • Surveys of Consumers from University of Michigan

    Maintained by University of Michigan, this web site contains numerous useful links to data and surveys on consumer sentiment, attitudes, behavior, spending, and expenditure.
  • Wages by Area and Location (BLS)

    Wage and occupation data at national, regional, state, and metropolitan area levels from Bureau of Labor Statistics.

• Market Specific Handbooks

  • Restaurant, Food & Beverage Market Research Handbook
  • International Consumer Markets e-book list
  • Leisure Market Research Handbook e-book list
  • Restaurant, Food & Beverage Market Research Handbook e-book list
  • Business to Business Marketing e-book list
  • Consumer Marketing e-book list