Business Research Guide: Business Home

e-Journal Finder

Use these tips to get the desired results faster and easier.

1. Use the Boolean Operator OR for broadening your search results, e.g. 

2. Use the Boolean Operators AND, NOT for narrowing your search results.

3. Avoid using very common terms. They might bring irrelevant search results.

4. Search for alternative words in a thesaurus, e.g. Business Source Elite database or Merriam Webster's through Encyclopedia Britannica.

5. In the "advanced search" page of each search engine use the domain box to limit your search, i.e. .edu, .gov or .org (for educational, governmental and organizational web sites).

• Business Source Elite

  This business database provides full text for over 4,000 business publications. The rich collection of titles provides information dating back to 1985. More than 10,100 substantial company profiles from Datamonitor are also included. This database is updated on a daily basis. [Introduction to EBSCOhost, flash video]

• Statista

  Statista is one of the world’s largest statistics and market data platforms with access to more than 1.5 million statistics, forecasts, dossiers, reports and infographics on 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources. From the rabbit pet food market value in the UK, to the share of population reading newspapers daily in Norway, to an exclusive consumer survey in Greece. The platform combines economic data, consumer insights, opinion polls and demographic trends. All data can be downloaded within seconds in 4 different office formats. On top, every student, lecturer and member of staff receives full publication and usage rights of the data (useful if you present at a conference for example). Automatic Citation output is included, too. [Getting started with Statista video]

• Regional Business News

  This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

• Academic Search Elite

  This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 7,700 journals, including full text for nearly 5,600 peer-reviewed titles. For browsing the business related content, go to "Publications", type "Business", select the "By Subject & Description" option, and hit the "Browse" button. 

• Encyclopedia Britannica

  The most authoritative information source in the world with over 100,000 articles.   [Getting Started with Encyclopedia Britannica]

Searching for a specific book?

Tip: try Title or Author search.

Searching for a specific topic?

Tip: try Keyword search.

Do: Type Subject terms related to your topic.