Anatolia College Libraries: Business Research Guide: Accounting

Suggested books/e-books

Financial Accounting by Stittle, John and Wearing, Bob.

Learning Accountancy : The Novel Way by Suntook, Zarir.

Accounting in Central and Eastern Europe by Albu, Catalin.

Applying international accounting standards by Alfredson, Keith .

A Non-Technical Guide to International Accounting by Roger Hussey

Advances in Management Accounting by John Y. Lee, Marc J. Epstein, John Y. Lee, and Mark Epstein

IFRS and XBRL : How to Improve Business Reporting Through Technology and Object Tracking by Kurt Ramin and Cornelis Reiman

International Financial Reporting Standards Desk Reference : Overview, Guide, and Dictionary by Roger Hussey, Audra Ong, and Audra Wei Ming Ong

Core concepts of accounting information systems by: Moscove, Stephen A

Financial & managerial accounting : the basis for business decisions / Jan R. Williams ... [et al.].

Top ranked e-journals in Accounting

Management Accounting Research

Journal of Financial & Quantitative Analysis

Auditing: A Journal of Practice & Theory

Journal of the American Taxation Association

Dictionaries and Glossaries

Library Book Lists

Suggested links to accounting books from the catalog.

Accounting
Auditing
Financial Statements
Fraud
Valuation

Journal Ranking Lists

A good starting point is to identify which journals are highly recommended or are rated/ranked highly. You can do this using:

Financial Times Top 45 Journals

ABS Academic Journal Quality Guide
(you need to create a free username and password on the site before you can view the guide)

Journal Quality List from Harzing.com

Journal Rankings on accounting in 2017 by SJR- Scimajo Journal and Country Rank.

Articles on Accounting

Accounting Research Network

From the Social Sciences Research Network. Contains white papers and journal articles in accounting, auditing and taxation.

Accounting Websites

AccountantsWorld
The AccountantsWorld team has been serving accountants for over 20 years. During this time, AccountantsWorld has developed some of the most innovative and practical solutions for accountants.
more...less...
It's an integrated pool of innovative services, information resources, break-through web-based software solutions, and training—all designed to increase your efficiency and save you time, enhance client relationships and grow your practice.
Financial Reporting Council
The role of the Financial Reporting Council is to issue accounting standards.
more...less...
This site provides a guide to accounting standards.
Accounting Terminology Guide
The New York State Society of CPAs has prepared this glossary as an educational tool for journalists who report on and interpret financial information.
more...less...
Find here terms on Accounting.
The American Institute of Public Accountants (AICPA)
The American Institute of Certified Public Accountants is the national, professional organization for all Certified Public Accountants. Its mission is to provide members with the resources, information, and leadership that enable them to provide valuable services in the highest professional manner to benefit the public as well as employers and clients.
more...less...
You can find professional information, conference proceedings, periodical publications, academic resources and career opportunities.
Digital Accounting Collection / University of Mississippi Libraries
The Digital Accounting Collection contains several discrete collections, including the AICPA’s noncurrent exposure drafts and noncurrent Codes of Professional Conduct, a group of accounting pamphlets spanning the 20th century, a list of items donated by Peter McMickle, and a small collection of art and photographs.
more...less...
Search for the full-text or the citation of the resources included.
Financial Accounting Standards Board ( FASB )
Since 1973, the Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) has been the designated organization in the private sector for establishing standards of financial accounting. Those standards govern the preparation of financial statements.
more...less...
Find projects, listen to online audio broadcasts of live meetings of the Board, access FASB documents, etc.
International Accounting Standards Board (IASB)
IASB's mission is to develop, in the public interest, a single set of high quality, understandable and international financial reporting standards (IFRSs) for general purpose financial statements.
Other links to accounting websites
PricewaterhouseCoopers
PricewaterhouseCoopers provides industry-focused services for public and private clients in order to build public trust and enhance value through the application of what it's call Connected Thinking. It is a company committed to serving as a force for integrity, good sense and wise solutions to the problems facing businesses and the capital markets today.
more...less...
Find the industry sectors that PricewaterhouseCoopers services, the offices worldwide, career opportunities, etc.
Simple Studies - Free Accounting Lessons
Provides free online accounting lessons that teach introduction to accounting. These accounting tutorials explain financial accounting principles in simple accounting terms. The website also has accounting exercises with solutions and accounting dictionary.
U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO)
GAO supports the Congress in meeting its constitutional responsibilities and helps improve the performance and accountability of the federal government for the benefit of the American people.
more...less...
Find reports released from the GAO.
U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
The SEC is proposing measures designed to prevent an investment adviser seeking to manage money for state and local governments from making political contributions or hidden payments to influence the selection.
more...less...
Find news and information from the Securities and Exchange Commission and search for recent full-text SEC filings in the EDGAR Database.
WallStreetMojo
WallStreetMojo is a source for college-level students with educational content on finance, accounting, and investment-related information..

Financial Disclosures

EDGAR

EDGAR, the Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system, performs automated collection, validation, indexing, acceptance, and forwarding of submissions by companies and others who are required by law to file forms with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).

Hoovers Online

Contains company information and financials, SEC filings, IPO information, competitive analysis. Has 'build a list' feature where companies can be filtered by financial, geographic and other criteria.

POLITICO

Financial Disclosures| News, Analysis and Opinion from POLITICO

The Economic Times

Financial Disclosures Latest Breaking News, Pictures, Videos, and Special Reports from The Economic Times. Financial Disclosures Blogs, Comments and Archive News on Economictimes.com

Investor Relations

When you need a company's annual reports, SEC filings, press releases, or conference calls go to the company's investor relations website.

Ratios

Quarterly Financial Report for Manufacturing, Mining, and Trade Corporations

Quarterly income statements and balance sheets, as well as financial and operating ratios for approximately 40 industries grouped by amount of total assets.

Seeking Alpha

This free website indexes quarterly earning conference calls by company name, ticker symbol, or words within transcripts.

Media

CNN Money
Nightly Business Report, PBS
CNBC
Fox Business
Planet Money, NPR
Marketplace, APM

Business Research Guide: Accounting