Anatolia College Libraries: Business Research Guide: Business Law

Suggested books/e-books

Card & James' business law

Business law : principles and practices

International business law and its environment

Business law

The Business Privacy Law Handbook by Kennedy, Charles H.

International Arbitration and Corporate Law : An OHADA Practice by Benoit Le Bars

Beginning Contract Law by Nicola Monaghan, Chris Monaghan, and Nick Stevenson

Business Law by James Marson

Top ranked e-journals in Business Law

Journal of Legal Studies in Business

Harvard International Law Journal

Business Lawyer

Journal of Business and Technology Law

Dictionaries and Glossaries

Search for the meaning of legal abbreviations:

Cardiff Abbreviations
Legal Publications Abbreviations (Monash University)

Dictionaries

The Startup Business Law Dictionary Online - LawTrades | This business law dictionary is a free source to look up business law terms and definitions. LawTrades law dictionary online is made by entrepreneurs for entrepreneurs.

Journal Ranking Lists

Journal Rankings on Law in 2017 by SJR- Scimajo Journal and Country Rank.

Business Law Websites

PublicLegal
PublicLegal, is a product of the Internet Legal Research Group (ILRG). A categorized index of more than 4000 select web sites in 238 nations, islands, and territories. This site was established in 1995 to serve as a comprehensive resource of the information available on the Internet concerning law and the legal profession, with an emphasis on the United States of America.
more...less...
Find here thousands of locally stored web pages, legal forms, and downloadable files.
Business Law Journal, University of California
The UC Davis Business Law Journal is run by dedicated law students who are committed to providing current and valuable legal and business analysis.
more...less...
Find articles and interviews.
EUROPA - Summaries of EU legislation
A new version of the website which offers users a clearer, easier and more interactive navigation to all categories of EU legislation.
EUR-Lex
EUR-Lex provides direct free access to European Union law. Here you can consult the Official Journal of the European Union as well as the treaties, legislation, case-law and legislative proposals.
United Nations - official website
Among the pages of the United Nations web site you will find information on the relationship between the United Nations and the international business community.
European Parliament
The official web site of the European Parliament offers access to information on EU budget, economic and monetary affairs, employment and social affairs, internal market and industry, etc.
HG.org - Commercial Law
HG.org was one of the very first online law and government sites. It was founded by a large network of independent law firms. HG.org objective is to make law, government and related professional information easily accessible to the legal profession, businesses and consumers.
more...less...
At the commercial law page you can find both U.S. and International Commercial Law guides, Associations, Various Resources and Articles.
Information on Banking and Bankruptcy Law is provided as well.
Electronic Information System for International Law (EISIL)
Portal to primary materials, authoritative web sites and helpful research guides on international law.
Uniform Law Commission
The Uniform Law Commission promotes uniformity of law among the several states on subjects as to which uniformity is desirable and practicable.

Case and Legislations

What is case law?
Case law is the reported decisions of courts which make new interpretations of the law. These interpretations may be cited as precedents.

Case Citators are used:
- To find the correct citation for a case
- If the case is reported in more than one series of reports
- To find out whether it is reported in an authorised law report series
- To find any earlier or later cases where the case has been considered
- To find journal articles and legislation considering the case
Case citators may link to the full text of the judgement and provide annotations on the case history. Annotations serve as a summary of the facts of the case and demonstrate how the law is enacted in legislation.

When searching for a case the case citator will search across the case summary including party names, jurisdiction, court and judge. The full text of the case is not searched.
What is legislation?
Legislation is law made by Parliament. It consists of:
- Acts (also known as statutes)
- Subordinate and delegated legislation (this refers to rules, regulations, by-laws and orders, legislative instruments created pursuant to an Act of Law)
- Bills (a proposal for a new law, or change to an existing law).
Legislation and associated documents, (extrinsic materials) are published in hard-copy and also available online.

Extrinsic materials are extremely useful in the legal research process. These materials are not included in Acts, but derived from external sources and can help clarify the meaning intended by Parliament. It may be in the form of explanatory memoranda, parliamentary speeches or law reform commission reports. This information can help you understand, define or interpret the meaning and intent of the law.

Research legislation
Online versions of legislation are freely accessible via the official Government websites. Click on the appropriate links under States and Territories on this page. Websites are updated regularly, though you should always check the currency of the version you have.

To begin your search for legislation you will need to identify the following:
- Which jurisdiction is the legislation enacted? Is it federal or state legislation?
- What is the form of legislation? It is a Bill, an Act or a regulation?
- What is the name of the legislation?
For example, to look up the Personally Controlled Electronic Health Records Act 2012 on the Australian Government Legislation website:
- Locate the Australian Government website ComLaw.
- Select "Acts"
- Choose type (Acts)
- Show results (Sort by Title)
- Select Pe (for “Personally Controlled…..”)
- Download the authoritative version of the Act
Once you have located the Act, select “View Series” to view Extrinsic Materials such as the items that amend the Principal, the Rules and Regulations the Act enables, and related Bills, such as the originating Bill.

You can use ComLaw to find legislation by Subject Area:
- Locate the "Law by Portfolio" from the Main Menu
- Select “Health” to browse for legislation in the area of health.

Useful links for legislative bodies

Organizations

International Organizations

United Nations
World Trade Organization| International body that advocates for liberalization of trade regulations and provides a forum for negotiating trade agreements & settling trade disputes.

Authorities and official bodies