Anatolia College Libraries: Business Research Guide: Economics

Suggested books/e-books

The economics of e-commerce : a strategic guide to understanding and designing the online marketplace by Vulkan, Nir

Economics SL by Blink, Jocelyn and Dorton,Ian

Economics : in terms of the good, the bad and the economist by McGee,Matt

The Economics of Health by Meyer, Donald J.

Evolving Approaches to the Economics of Public Policy : Views of Award-winning Economist by Kimmel, Jean.

Reengaging Egypt : Options for US-Egypt Economic Relations by Barbara Kotschwar and Jeffrey Schott

Top ranked e-journals in Economics

Journal of electronic commerce research

Theoretical Economics

Journal of International Economics

Journal of Economic Perspectives

Dictionaries and Glossaries

A Political and Economic Dictionary of Western Europe

A Political and Economic Dictionary of the Middle East

A Political and Economic Dictionary of Latin America

Journal Ranking Lists

Journal Rankings in Economics in 2017 by SJR- Scimajo Journal and Country Rank.

Library book lists

Suggested links to economics books from the catalog.

Economics websites

NEW ADDITION! International Monetary Fund
The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 186 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.
more...less...
Find articles on "Country Info" about monetary policies and other related issues, "Data and Statistics", Publications, etc.
EconData.Net
EconData.Net is designed to help practitioners, researchers, students, and other data users quickly gain access to relevant state and substate socioeconomic data.
more...less...
Find the "10 Best sites" with economic data, the "Data Collections" with links to web sites with on-line data collections and versions of statistical compendia, data search engines, microdata tools, and GIS mapping resources.
EconPapers
EconPapers provides access to RePEc, the world's largest collection of on-line Economics working papers, journal articles, books and software. ALL DOWNLOADABLE!
The Levy Economics Institute
The Levy Economics Institute of Bard College is a nonprofit organization, whose ultimate purpose is to serve the wider policymaking community in the United States and the rest of the world by enabling scholars and leaders in business, labor, and government to work together on problems of common interest.
more...less...
Find the Levy Institute's publications, conferences, workshops, seminars, congressional testimony, and other activities.
Resources for Economists (RFE)
This guide is sponsored by the American Economic Association. It lists more than 2,000 resources in 97 sections and sub-sections available on the Internet of interest to academic and practicing economists. Almost all resources are also described.
more...less...
Among the resources are dictionaries/encyclopedias, economists/departments, forecasting, jobs/grants, forums, conferences, teaching resources, etc.
American Economic Association Web (AEAweb)
AEAweb includes the web pages for association and publication information; contents, abstracts, datafiles, and full-text links to journals. AEAweb provides news, member features, Annual Meeting conference papers, grants information, and more.

Economics policy websites

American Enterprise Institute (AEI)

A private, conservative, not-for-profit institution dedicated to research and education on issues of government, politics, economics and social welfare think tank founded in 1938.
Brookings Economic Studies

Analyzes current and emerging economic policy issues facing the United States, focusing on job creation, fiscal integrity and promoting responsible economic growth.
Cato Institute

A public policy research organization dedicated to the principles of individual liberty, limited government, free markets and peace.
Center for Economic and Policy Research (CEPR)

CEPR was established in 1999 to promote democratic debate on the most important economic and social issues that affect people's lives.
Economic Policy Institute

A nonprofit, nonpartisan think tank created in 1986 to include the needs of low- and middle-income workers in economic policy discussions.
INET: Institute for New Economic Thinking

INET was created to broaden and accelerate the development of new economic thinking that can lead to solutions for the great challenges of the 21st century.
NBER: National Bureau of Economic Research

A research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works.
Peter G. Peterson Institute for international Economics

The Peterson Institute for International Economics is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research institution devoted to the study of international economic policy.

Citing data/statistical sources

It is important to cite not only the literature consulted but also the data or statistics used. The elements of a data/statistics citation include:

Author(s)/Creator
Title
Year of publication: The date when the statistics/dataset was published or released (rather than the collection or coverage date)
Publisher: the data center/repository
Any applicable identifier (including edition or version)
Availability and access: URL or other location information for the data/statistics

The following links provide you with useful guides to citing statistical data. Use these along with the citation style guide recommended by your instructor.

The OWL at Purdue, APA Style Reference List: Electronic Sources (Web Publications) (See section on Data Sets)
Statistics Canada's Guide "How to Cite Statistics Canada Products"
How to Cite Data (UBC Library)

Media

Business- BBC

Economics-Bloomberg

The economist-World news, politics, economics, business and finance

Financial Times

MarketWatch: Stock Market News- Financial News

Economy- The New York Times

Business & Financial News, U.S & International Breaking News | Reuters

Economy News- Wall Street Journal

Yahoo Finance- Business Finance, Stock Market, Quotes, News

Key Data Sources

FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data)
Includes FRED, with 40,000 economic time series; ALFRED,with archival (unrevised) time series; FRASER, with historical US federal govt. economic publications; and several other components. From the St. Louis Fed.

NBER Data
Wide variety of socioeconomic datasets from the National Bureau of Economic Research.

UNdata
Includes major UN databases and those of several related IGO's.

Economic Data

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER): Other Data Collections
Links to government departments and agencies, the Federal Reserve (including links to all branches), international organizations such as World Bank, and a variety of other sources for statistical data.

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER): Public Use Data Archive
Datasets available from the NBER or otherwise associated with the NBER research program

FedStats
Links to statistical data portals on U.S. federal government agency statistical websites.

Data.gov
Repository of raw empirical datasets from participating US federal agencies.