Anatolia College Libraries: Business Research Guide: International Business

Suggested books/e-books

International business : competing in the global marketplace by Hill, Charles W. L.

International business law and its environment by Schaffer, Richard.

International business in an enlarging Europe by Academy of International BusinessUK Chapter.

International Business : Theory and Practice by Ajami, Riad A.

Business Coaching International : Transforming Individuals and Organizations: Second Edition by Professional Coaching Series.

Philosophy of Science and Meta-Knowledge in International Business and Management by Tihanyi, Laszlo.

Top ranked e-journals in International Business

Journal of International Economics

Journal of International Business Strategy

Academy of Management Annals

Journal of Marketing

Journal Ranking Lists

Journal Ranking Lists in Business and International Management in 2017 by SJR- Scimajo Journal and Country Rank.

International Business Websites

ORGANISATIONS

Asia-Pacific Economic Co-operation
"APEC is the premier Asia-Pacific economic forum. Our primary goal is to support sustainable economic growth and prosperity in the Asia-Pacific region"
Association of SouthEast Asian Nations
Austrade (Australian Trade Commission)
Export market and country overviews and business advice to Australian exporters.
Australia China Business Council
"ACBC actively promotes two-way trade and investment, and economic cooperation and understanding, between the business communities of Australia and China"
Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT)
"The department’s role is to advance the interests of Australia and Australians internationally. This involves working to strengthen Australia’s security; enhancing Australia’s prosperity; delivering an effective and high quality aid programme; and helping Australian travellers and Australians overseas"
Business Victoria - Exporting
"nformation, training and advice to help Victorian companies export".
International Business Center
"[N]ot-for-profit organization that has invested hundreds of hours creating a series of dynamic and valuable resources for international business people, international business students, and teachers and professors at international business schools throughout the World"
International Business Ethics Institute (IBEI)
A non-for-profit organisation focussed on global business ethics and the development of cross-cultural relations. The 'Resources' section would be of particular interest.
International Chamber of Commerce (ICC)
An organisation whose mission is to work towards strengthening ties in commerce globally.
International Monetary Fund
"The IMF works to foster global growth and economic stability. It provides policy advice and financing to members in economic difficulties and also works with developing nations to help them achieve macroeconomic stability and reduce poverty".
International Trade Centre (ITC)
A joint agency of the WTO and UN whose aim is to help businesses in developing countries become more competitive globally.
Japan - Ministry of Economy Trade and Industry (METI)
Japan External Trade Organization
JETRO, or the Japan External Trade Organization, is a government-related organization that works to promote mutual trade and investment between Japan and the rest of the world.
Malaysia External Trade Development Corporation (MATRADE)
Singapore - Ministry of Trade and Industry (MTI)
Taiwan - Bureau of Foreign Trade
United Nations (ESCAP) Trade and Investment Division
"ESCAP's objective is to promote trade, investment and transfer of technology for inclusive and sustainable development in the Asia-Pacific region"
World Bank - Trade and International Integration
The World Bank research on trade and international integration aims to better understand the role of global economic integration in development and poverty reduction in developing countries.
World Trade Organization
An organisation whose main aim is to help trade flow between countries as freely as possible with few obstacles benefiting all countries involved.
SIPRI - Stockholm International Peace Research Institute
An independent international institute dedicated to research into conflict, armaments, arms control and disarmament.

Media

Useful tools for international business

Country Risk Reports

Business Source Elite

This link provides you with the results of "Country Risk Report". Type also the country name to find the latest country risk reports.

AM Best Country Risk - Public Website AM Best is a full-service credit rating organization serving the insurance industry. Select country to download reports.

Coface - Public Website Coface is a trade receivables consulting firm and provides risk analysis by country.

Euromoney Country Risk - Public Website Risk analysis from ECR with emphasis on financial and political factors. Paid membership is required for full access.
Market Statistics

Nomis

This database run by the University of Durham on behalf of the Office for National Statistics is a web based resource of labour market statistics. It provides a range of government statistical information on the UK Labour market including unemployment, benefits data, employment, earningsm Labour Force Survey and Annual Population Survey.

Coverage varies but includes the latest published figures and times series data (in some cases data goes back to the 1970s)
Other Internet Resources
- American Chamber of Commerce in Canada
- Canadian Chamber of Commerce
- Bank of Canada
- Canadian Stock Exchange/TMX
- Canadian Trade Index
  Index of industrial and manufacturing products and services.
- Canadian Association of Importers & Exporters
- Doing Business in Canada
  Issued by Borden Ladner Gervais in 2019.
- Canada Economic Development HQ
  Provides links to economic development agencies in all provinces.
- Canada's Economic Action Plan
- Deloitte Canada: Industries
  Free research and reports on key Canadian industries.
- KPMG Canada
  Free reports are listed under the 'Industries' tab.
- Canada - National Economy
  Data commentaries and reports issued by TD.com.
- Investment Industry Association of Canada
  Look for free content under the 'Resources' tab.
- Canadian American Business Council
- Canada California Business Council
Trade
- World Trade Online
- Trade Policy Reviews

Etiquette
- International Business Etiquette, Manners and Culture
  Learn about etiquette, manners, and cross cultural, or intercultural communication this website includes information concerning religion, appearance, behavior, communication, Geert Hofstede Analysis dimensions, and additional resources. Regions covered are Asia, Middle East, Europe/Russia, Latin America, South Pacific, and North America.
  
  more...
Country Insights from the Centre for Intercultural Learning
Arranged by country this website takes a Canadian perspective on such issues of conversations, communication styles, display of Emotion
Dress, Punctuality & Formality
Preferred Managerial Qualities
Hierarchy and Decision-making
Religion, Class, Ethnicity, & Gender
Relationship-building

Privileges and Favouritism
Conflicts in the Workplace
Motivating Local Colleagues
Recommended Books, Films & Foods
In-country Activities
National Heroes
Shared Historical Events with Canada
Stereotypes

Business Research Guide: International Business