The Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) is the world’s largest association devoted to human resource management. The Society serves the needs of HR professionals and advances the interests of the HR profession.
Find information on HR Disciplines, Legal Issues, Useful Tools such as Glossaries and Assessment Resources, Journal Articles and Books from the Society's publications, e-Learning programs and other seminars, Conferences, etc.
"Offers analysis of current business trends, interviews with industry leaders, conference overviews, book reviews, and links to relevant content, and a searchable database of over 1,500 articles and abstracts."
Based in Washington, DC, the American Psychological Association (APA) is a scientific and professional organization that represents psychology in the United States. With 150,000 members, APA is the largest association of psychologists worldwide.
ASQ is a society of individual and organizational members "dedicated to the ongoing development, advancement, and promotion of quality concepts, principles, and techniques." Products and services address issues such as quality management, benchmarking, productivity, and more. This site includes information on the ISO 9000 and ISO 14000 standards, QS-9000 requirements, and ASQ certification programs. Also included are information on ASQ products, education courses and conferences.
The American Sociological Association is a non-profit membership association that is dedicated to advancing sociology as a scientific discipline and profession serving the public good. Founded in 1905, it is an association of nearly 14,000 members and home to 44 special interest sections with more than 21,000 members. ASA hosts of an annual meeting with more than 6,000 participants and is a publisher of 10 professional journals and magazines.
Members are active in all types of staffing services available today including: temporary help, professional employer services, managed services, payroll, placement services, temporary-to-full-time services, long-term staffing, and others. Non-members can access online directories, calendar of events, an idea exchange on current topics, industry news, information on publications, and membership information.
The Association for Talent Development (ATD), formerly the American Society for Training & Development (ASTD), is the world’s largest association dedicated to those who develop talent in organizations. These professionals help others achieve their full potential by improving their knowledge, skills, and abilities. ATD’s members come from more than 120 countries and work in public and private organizations in every industry sector. ATD supports the work of professionals locally in more than 125 chapters, international strategic partners, and global member networks. Additional electronic content is available at the ILR Library. Please ask for assistance at the ILR Reference Desk.
For over 9 years, BPM.com has been the Internet's leading destination for articles, news, research and white papers on Business Process Management, Process Modeling, Business Rules, and Case Management. Our registered user group of 40,000 practitioners and process professionals represents over $1 Billion of identified annual investment in BPM.
EBRI promotes the understanding and furtherance of employee benefits national policy. It is a neutral organization that does objective research on employee benefit programs and public policy with regard to employee benefits. Additional electronic content is available at the ILR Library. Please ask for assistance at the ILR Reference Desk.
The Innovation Network is a "...group of people dedicated to improving their organizations through the powerful use of innovation, creativity and collaboration skills." The site includes membership information, articles, discussion forums, best practices, and conference information. Some of this information is accessible to members only.
Membership information. Conference information. Management Resources Center with information on intranets, job descriptions, salaries. White papers. Buyer's Guide. Links to other Internet resources. Keyword searching ability is forthcoming. Not as extensive as the SHRM site, but it looks like they are working towards that with many areas "under construction."
Information on foreign investment, interpretation of the laws, rules, and regulations governing establishment of new enterprises, and limitations on foreign ownership and taxation. Includes a section on "Human Resources" HR section include Overview, Labour law, Industrial labour, Wages and fringe benefits, Working hours, Part-time and temporary help, Termination of employment, Employment of foreigners, and National incentives
Immigration Law, specifically the enforcement of this law, changed dramatically after the attacks of September 11th and the subsequent passage of the Homeland Security Act of 2002, which created the Department of Homeland Security.
Provides access to the following U.S. government databases: County Business Patterns, USA Counties, Annual Survey of Manufacturers, ZIP code Business Patterns, International Trade Data and Occupation by Sex, Race & Hispanic Origins.
Data.gov increases the ability of the public to easily find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets. The data catalogs will continue to grow as datasets are added. Federal, Executive Branch data are included in the first version of Data.gov.