How to start a mindmap
Useful tools:
Writing a Research Paper by
"An approachable guide to help master and apply the writing, speaking, and listening skills involved in conducting research projects, composing arguments, and conveying results"--
The Everything Guide to Study Skills by
KEYNOTE: All students need to improve writing, test-taking and studying skills in the digital age Studying for school doesn't have to be a chore. "The Everything Guide to Study Skills" is a fun and accessible resource for any reader who is trying to develop better study habits. Whether they want to improve their transcript for college applications, ace a standardised test, or just become a better, more successful student at any level of education. This title features: * How to get the most out of class time * The most effective strategies for note-taking and memorizing * Practical strategies for time management * How to write well in various styles * Preparing for and analysing tests and quizzes * How to safely and effectively conduct online research * The pros and cons of using and accessing library materials online * Avoiding plagiarism with online source * Use Skype, IChat or other social networking media to form study groups With this essential guide, readers will be able to balance school and activities, avoid pre-test panic, and achieve consistently better results. SELLING POINTS: * Includes all the basics, plus new information on web research, digital testbooks, virtual classrooms and online study and writing tools * The Everything Study Book was exceptionally popular AUTHOR: Cynthia Muchnik is an accomplished educator, author, and educational consultant. She presents seminars and workshops on high school and college success, writing college essays, the college application process, and career planning, in addition to working with private clients to help with college admissions.
How to Study, 25th Anniversary Edition by
The best-selling How to Study has helped millions of students study smarter, not harder. For its 25th anniversary, it is undergoing the most extensive revision in a decade. How to Study reveals the study skills that all students need to know to be successful, whether the goal is landing a top scholarship, excelling in school, or preparing to return to school. This edition includes information on how to create an effective work environment, stand out in class, conduct research online, and much more. Fry also covers all the traditional elements of a winning study strategy, such as reading, writing, time-management, memory, and test-taking skills. How to Study introduces a revolutionary study system, along with examples, that gives students the edge in any learning environment. How to Study also: Prepares students of all ages to excel in their classes by developing effective study skills. Shows students, in a quick, easy-to-read style, the essential skills that can be applied outside the classroom and later in life. Includes study tips for teaching and studying with young children; advice for fighting mid-study fatigue and boredom; tips for in-class learning; and more.
Surefire Tips to Improve Your Writing Skills by
This thoughtful text teaches readers the basics of good academic writing. Following the Common Core English Language Arts Standard in writing, this book includes tips on setting up a proper writing space, finding motivation, and coming up with ideas. It also teaches readers how to conduct research, organize one's notes, formulate theses, put together an outline, write rough drafts, revise, write a final draft, compile a bibliography, keep everything organized, and more. With a straightforward and pragmatic approach, this book will give students the basics they need to write successfully in school.
The acronym CRAAP stands for Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, and Purpose. These are criteria that can help you evaluate sources of information you have retrieved.
Asking the questions indicated here about each website, document or piece of information that you find will help you decide which ones are relevant for your project.
Currency: the timeliness of information
Does your topic require current information, or will older sources work as well?
When was the information posted or published?
Is the information current or out-of-date for your topic?
Has the information been revised or updated?
Are the links functional?
Relevancy: the importance of the information for your needs
Does the information relate to your topic or answer your question?
Who is the intended audience?
Is the information at an appropriate level?
Have you looked at a variety of sources before choosing the one?
Would you be comfortable using this source for a research paper?
Authority: the expertise of the source.
Who is the author/publisher/source/sponsor?
Are the author’s credentials or organizational affiliation given?
What are the author’s qualifications to write on the topic?
Is there contact information to reach the author or the publisher?
Does the URL reveal anything about the author or source? (examples: .com .edu .gov .org .net)
Accuracy: the reliability, truthfulness, and correctness of the content
Where did the information come from?
Is the information supported by evidence?
Is there a bibliography, or has someone reviewed the source?
Can you verify the information in another source?
Are there spelling, grammar, or typographical errors?
Purpose: the reason the information exists
What is the purpose of the information?
Does the author or sponsor make their intentions and purpose clear?
Is the information fact, opinion, or propaganda?
Does the language or tone seem biased or is it free from emotion?
Are there political, ideological, cultural, religious, institutional, or personal biases?
Bibliography is an alphabetical list of every source used to research the project. It is uploaded separetely and is not included in the page limt.
List of references: is an alphabetical list of only those sources that are cited in the project, presentation or report.
