Skip to main content

IBDP: Modern Greek

Resources for the IBDP

Journal of Modern Greek Studies: is the only scholarly periodical to focus exclusively on modern Greece. The Journal publishes critical analyses of Greek social, cultural, and political affairs, covering the period from the late Byzantine Empire to the present. It is the official publication of the Modern Greek Studies Association (MGSA).

In print & Online

Νέα Εστία: το αξιολογότερο ελληνικό λογοτεχνικό περιοδικό από το 1927. Το περιεχόμενο του αποτελείται από λογοτεχνικά έργα και μελέτες για την λογοτεχνία στην χώρα και διεθνώς. 

In print & Online archive

the books's journal: ένα περιοδικό για τα βιβλία, την πολιτική, τις ιδέες, την λογοτεχνία και τις τέχνες.

In print & Online free

The Athens Review of Books: η επιθεώρηση φιλοδοξεί να αποτελέσει το ελληνικό αντίστοιχο της New York Review of Books, ένα παρεμβατικό μηνιαίο έντυπο υψηλών ποιοτικών προδιαγραφών τεκμηριωμένου κριτικού λόγου. 

In print & Online free

Ενετευκτήριο: λογοτεχνικό περιοδικό με έδρα την Θεσσαλονίκη.

In print & Online free

Open Access Journals

Greek Journals

Ο Ερανιστής / The Gleaner: Έκδοση του Ομίλου Μελέτης του Ελληνικού Διαφωτισμού. Tο περιοδικό ειδικεύεται στη μελέτη της πρόσληψης των ιδεών του ευρωπαϊκού 18ου αιώνα στον ελληνικό χώρο και γενικότερα στη νοτιοανατολική Eυρώπη. Φιλοξενεί επίσης μελέτες για την ιστορία του έντυπου βιβλίου. Σε κάποιες περιπτώσεις δημοσιεύει άρθρα που χρονολογικά αναφέρονται στην προ του 18ου αιώνα εποχή αλλά και στον 19ο, καθώς ενδιαφέρεται να διερευνήσει τις ρίζες αλλά και τις επιβιώσεις του Nεοελληνικού Διαφωτισμού.

Σύγκριση / Comparaison / Comparison: Έκδοση της Ελληνικής Εταιρείας Γενικής και Συγκριτικής Γραμματολογίας. Το περιοδικό δημοσιεύει μελέτες με θέμα την σύγκριση της ελληνικής λογοτεχνίας με ξένες λογοτεχνίες και με τις καλές τέχνες.

Περιοδικό Γλωσσολογία:Η Γλωσσολογία φιλοξενεί μελέτες και βιβλιοκρισίες που αφορούν, κατά προτεραιότητα, τη συγχρονία και τη διαχρονία της Ελληνικής γλώσσας, αλλά και μελέτες γενικότερης θεωρητικής, εφαρμοσμένης και διαγλωσσικής έρευνας.

ΚΕΙΜΕΝΑ για την έρευνα, τη  θεωρία, την κριτική και τη διδακτική της Παιδικής Λογοτεχνίας: Έκδοση του Πανεπιστημίου Θεσσαλίας. Το περιοδικό επιδιώκει να παρέχει ένα βήμα έκφρασης και διαλόγου για την Παιδική Λογοτεχνία σε θεωρητικό, ερευνητικό επίπεδο, με χαρακτήρα διεπιστημονικής συνεργασίας ώστε να επιτευχθεί και να διευκολυνθεί η συνάντηση του ακαδημαϊκού λόγου με την πρακτική εφαρμογή και την εμπειρία.

International Journal of Language, Translation and Intercultural Communication: The IJLTIC is an international, peer-reviewed journal that publishes articles in the fields of applied linguistics, translation and interpreting studies, discourse studies and intercultural communication studies. The journal aims at promoting the intercultural perspective on language communication, fostering mutual respect both by major languages and linguistic trends for the local but also respect and understanding of the local before the global in terms of coexistence. In other words, the IJLTIC will serve as a platform for exchanging and generating insights into local linguistic and communicational aspects that deserve global attention and into global perspectives and trends that have an impact locally.

International Journals

Modern Greek Studies Online: Journal of the Society for Modern Greek Studies: is an open-access, peer-reviewed journal for the Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences that aims to promote research and scholarship on all aspects of Modern Greek Studies. 

Journal of Greek Linguistics: is an established (double-blind) peer-reviewed international journal dedicated to the descriptive and theoretical study of the Greek language from its roots in Ancient Greek down to present-day dialects and varieties, including those spoken in Asia Minor, Cyprus, Tsakonia, and the Greek diaspora. It aims to offer a focused outlet for publication of first-class research in Greek Linguistics, broadly construed. 

Databases

Selected databases

JSTOR: A research database providing access to complete archives of digitized core scholarly journals, many dating from the 1800s

Oxford Handbooks Online: Oxford Handbooks Online brings together the world's leading scholars to write review essays that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic, and make an original argument about the future direction of the debate. Bissell Library has access to 86 titles of the entire Oxford Handbooks collection. These titles span on the thematic areas of Literature, Classical Studies, and History.

Oxford Reference Online: Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.

Project MUSE Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.

Encyclopedias

Britannica Academic: Britannica Online Academic delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. The combination of the Encyclopædia Britannica and Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools provides the variety of reliable sources students need for research-all in one place.

Funk & Wangall's New World Encyclopedia: This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.

Open Access Databases

ePublishing provides open access to scholarly eJournals, eBooks and eProceedings,

SearchCulture.gr is the Greek Aggregator for Cultural Heritage Content and National Provider for Europeana. Access from here a wide variety of digital resources. 

OpenArchives.gr: is the largest portal providing a single point of access to Greek scientific digital content of high quality.

Νέα Ελληνική Λογοτεχνία και Πολιτισμός: Αυτή η ηλεκτρονική έκδοση περιλαμβάνει Ανθολόγιο κειμένων από την Νέα Ελληνική Λογοτεχνία, Ανθολόγιο Αναγνώσεων (σε ηχητική μορφή), Ανθολόγιο Μαρτυριών και Ανθολόγιο Παιδικής Παράδοσης, ένα Χρονολόγιο (1801-1981), Έργα Αναφοράς και χρήσιμες διαδικτυακές Συνδέσεις. Επίσης η έκδοση περιλαμβάνει, μεταξύ άλλων, βιογραφικά στοιχεία και εργογραφίες των Κ.Π. Καβάφη, Κ.Θ. Δημαρά και Γ.Π. Σαββίδη, και πληροφορίες για την εταιρεία μας και τις δραστηριότητές της.

Ανέμη: Α Digital Library that aims to provide simple and quick access to a rich collection of digitized material related to Modern Greek Studies. Apart from finding bibliographic information, the researcher can also browse the documents themselves in electronic form. Here you may find a great number of old and rare documents, as well as recent publications for which their creators allowed the digitization and free distribution over the Internet.

Helios: The repository of the National Hellenic Research Foundation (NHRF), operates according to international standards and provides free and unrestricted access to scientific content produced by researchers at NHRF.

Ελληνικό Λογοτεχνικό και Ιστορικό Αρχείο: Στο καταθετήριο του ΕΛΙΑ παρέχει πρόσβαση στις ψηφιοποιημένες συλλογές του.

ΕΡΤ Αρχείο: Το πλουσιότερο οπτικοακουστικό αρχείο της Ελλάδας που αποτελεί ένα σημαντικό μέρος της πολιτιστικής μας κληρονομιάς. Περιηγηθείτε στον διαδικτυακό τόπο, το περιεχόμενο του οποίου διαρκώς εμπλουτίζεται και ανανεώνεται με ντοκιμαντέρ, εκπομπές ενημερωτικές, ψυχαγωγικές, ρεπορτάζ, ειδήσεις, φωτογραφίες, ηχητικά ντοκουμέντα από το ραδιοφωνικό μας αρχείο και έγγραφα όπως, παρτιτούρες.

βιβλιοnet: Βάση δεδομένων του ΕΚΕΒΙ με τα βιβλία που κυκλοφορούν. Καλύπτει σχεδόν στο σύνολό της την εγχώρια βιβλιοπαραγωγή.

Web resources

Πύλη για την Ελληνική Γλώσσα: The Centre for the Greek Language has designed and implemented this Internet portal to support the study and teaching of the Greek language. It is addressed to researchers, university students, teachers, pupils, and everyone interested in the Greek language, within and outside of Greece. It attempts to cover the Greek language both diachronically and synchronically (Ancient Greek, Medieval Greek, Modern Greek).

Εθνικό Κέντρο Βιβλίου: The portal of the National Book Center of Greece provides detailed documentation on Greek authors, translators, illustrators, publishers, as well as anthologies of Greek poetry. It also provides access to archives of literary journals. 

Modern Greek Studies Association: it is a scholarly organization for modern Greek studies in North America. Within this portal you can find Academic publications on Greek America, including book reviews. Non-academic publications on Greek America, including autobiographies, community histories, fiction, poetry, photography, painting, etc. Essays, articles, and book reviews published in the media Films and documentaries Research queries regarding Greek American topics

Greek Literary Magazines Online

Magazines

Ο Αναγνώστης: ένα ηλεκτρονικό περιοδικό για το βιβλίο και τις τέχνες.

Χάρτης: μηνιαίο περιοδικό λόγου & τέχνης. Ποίηση, πεζογραφία, μελέτες, δοκίμια, σχόλια, κριτική, μεταφράσεις, βιβλία κ.ά.

Book Press: μια διαδικτυακή πύλη για το βιβλίο, τις ιδέες και τον πολιτισμό.

diastixo: ένα ενημερωτικό site για το βιβλίο, τις τέχνες και τον πολιτισμό. 

Διαβάζω: ένα από τα σημαντικά λογοτεχνικά περιοδικά της χώρας. Τα τεύχη του φιλοξενούν κείμενα σημαντικών θεωρητικών και κριτικών και συνεντεύξεις σύγχρονων λογοτεχνών. Πολύ χρήσιμα επίσης είναι τα αφιερώματα σε πρόσωπα. (1979 - 2012)

Newspapers:

Βιβλιο: Η Καθημερινή

Βιβλία: Το Βήμα

By the book: Τα Νέα

Εκδόσεις - Βιβλία: Εφημερίδα των Συντακτών

More: 

Literature on the Web: a list of magazines online and websites.

Online Library: Digitized discontinued literary magazines (Νεα Εστία, Οδός Πανός, Πλανόδιον, Περίπλους, Το Δέντρο, Η Λέξη, Οροπέδιο, Intellectum)


© 2017 Anatolia High School, P.O. Box 21021, 55510, Thessaloniki, Greece, Tel. +30 2310 398200