Skip to main content

IBDP: Visual Arts

Resources for the IBDP

Books & eBooks

Library online resources

Britannica ImageQuest

This database brings assignments, and projects to life with over three million images from 62 leading collections. Images include full documentation and are rights-cleared for educational, non-commercial use.


JSTOR

A research database providing access to complete archives of digitized core scholarly journals, many dating from the 1800s

Find out more about Art & History Resources on JSTOR 


Oxford Reference Online

The premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.

Preferably used for definitions, biographies, and general reference articles.


Points of View

A full text database providing essays presenting multiple sides of a current controversial issue. Includes more than 270 topics, each with an overview, objective background/description, point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide.

Electronic Academic Journals

Visual Arts Research

VAR provides a forum for historical, critical, cultural, psychological, educational and conceptual research in visual arts and aesthetic education.

Journal of Visual Arts Practice

The JVAP is a forum of debate and inquiry for research in art. JVAP is concerned with visual art practice including the social, economic, political and cultural frames within which the formal concerns of art and visual art practice are located. The journal is concerned with research engaged in these disciplines, and with the contested ideas of knowledge formed through that research.

Oxford Art Journal

This journal has an international reputation for publishing innovative critical work in art history, and has played a major role in recent rethinking of the discipline. It is committed to the political analysis of visual art and material representation from a variety of theoretical perspectives, and has carried work addressing themes from Antiquity to contemporary art practice. In addition it carries extended review of major contributions to the field.

The Metropolitan Museum of Art Bulletin

A quarterly publication, geared to a general audience, that focuses on works in The Met's collection or exhibitions displayed at the Museum.

International Journal of Art & Design Education

Concerned with theoretical and practical approaches, particularly the social and cultural values which inform art and design education.

Other resources

Artsor Digital Library 

A public database of approximately 1 million freely accessible images, videos, documents, and audio files. The available content is provided by multiple institutions. 


Google Arts & Culture

A digital platform providing access to high resolution images of artefacts housed in major institutions around the world. You can virtually browse the collections of more than 40 museums. 


Europeana

A European repository with thematic collections on art, fashon, music, photography and World War I that contain galleries, blogs and exhibitions. It provides access to over 50 million digitised items - books, music, artworks and more from numerous insitutions in Europe.

Museums around the world

Major museums provide information regarding items of their collections as well as artists whose work is being displayed. On their websites you can find information on current and past exhibitions and references to related articles. 

Citing your sources


© 2017 Anatolia High School, P.O. Box 21021, 55510, Thessaloniki, Greece, Tel. +30 2310 398200