Skip to main content

Humanities & Social Sciences Research Guide: Humanities & Social Sciences

Welcome

Use the Humanities & Social Sciences (HSS) Research Guide to find resources for your studies, class assignments and research.

Click on "Home" for core resources in the humanities and social sciences.

More specialized tools and resources are listed under the subject tabs above.

Questions or recommendations? Please contact me at rscragg@act.edu,  2310 398-388.

Learning Hub

Glossaries and Dictionaries

Learning Greek

FILOGLOSSIA – LEARNING GREEK AS A FOREIGN LANGUAGE BEGINNER LEVEL

Harvard OU Style Guide

 

Search the Library Catalog

 

Recommended Databases

  • Project Muse    
    Full text database of all the Johns Hopkins University Press journals (1996 to the present) and other selected journals covering arts, culture, history, literature philosophy, and politics.   [Training & Usage Guides]

Humanities & Social Sciences Resources

Academic Info: Directory of Online Educational Resources

Bartleby.com (e-text archive of canonical English and American literature)

EDSITEment - The Best of the Humanities on the Web

H-NET – HUMANITIES AND SOCIAL SCIENCES ONLINE:   An international interdisciplinary connection to lists, Web sites, multimedia materials, etc., related to research and teaching in the arts, humanities, and social sciences

LookSmart (editorially-chosen, annotated directory Web sites) (Reader's Digest)

PROJECT GUTENBERG   A site providing free eBooks and eTexts

UNIVERSITY OF OXFORD (UK) TEXT ARCHIVE   Develops, collects, catalogues and preserves electronic literary and linguistic resources for use in higher education, in research, teaching and learning. It also gives advice on the creation and use of these resources and is involved in the development of standards and infrastructure for electronic language resources

VOICE OF THE SHUTTLE   A long-established online humanities index and search engine based at the University of Santa Barbara (California, USA)

Russell Scragg's picture
Russell Scragg
Contact:
2310 398388

Search Ebsco Host

Find out which online journals are contained in the databases the Bissell library subscribes to. Search for journals by Title Name, , , , or .

[Click here for more info]

DOAJ

© 2018 ACT - Studies in Greece, 17 Sevenidi st., 55535, Pylea, Thessaloniki, Greece, Tel. +30 2310 398398
Find us on: The American College of Thessaloniki on LinkedIn ACT Blog Facebook Twitter YouTube Skype Me™! Flickr