Humanities & Social Sciences Research Guide: Politics & International Relations

NELSON POLITICAL SCIENCE GLOSSARY

Political Science Dictionary

Political Science Glossary

• Journal Rankings on Political Science and International Relations
• Journal Rankings on Sociology and Political Science

• NATO- EU relations
• NATO-Russia relations
• NATO-Ukraine relations
• NATO and the Balkans
• NATO 2010 Strategic Concept 

• American Enterprise Institute for Public Policy Research
  AEI is a nonpartisan organization which conducts research into issues of economics and trade, social welfare, tax, legal policies, U.S. politics, international affairs, and U.S. defense and foreign policies.
• BBC WORLD NEWS   UK public service broadcasting network
• Brookings Institution
  This independent, nonpartisan organization is devoted to research, analysis, education, and publication focused on public policy issues in economics, foreign policy, and governance. Their Web page provides a wealth of information and links to other resources.
• C-SPAN.org
  C-SPAN, a public service of the cable television industry, has created this site for "public affairs on the Web."
• CONGRESS.GOV   Official US website for legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public
• Council on Foreign Relations
  A nonprofit, nonpartisan organization devoted to promoting understanding of international affairs, the Council provides information on terrorism, U. S. policy, globalization, governance and human rights, and much more.
• POTUS (Presidents of the United States)
  Internet Public Library's links to presidential biographies, historical documents, audio and video files, and more.
• THOMAS: Legislative Information on the Internet
  Search for text of bills, get information on House and Senate Committees, read the Congressional Record, and more.
• Women in Politics
  This Web page from the Inter-Parliamentary Union features statistics on the representation of women in political systems throughout the world.
• Taylor & Francis Open Access content on the Second World War 
  Browse the specially curated collection of Open Access book chapters and journal articles on the Second World War.  This living collection will be continually updated with new research throughout the course of 2020.
• The ReDistricting Game
  is designed to educate, engage, and empower citizens around the issue of political redistricting. Currently, the political system in most states allows the state legislators themselves to draw the lines. This system is subject to a wide range of abuses and manipulations that encourage incumbents to draw districts which protect their seats rather than risk an open contest.

• E-International Relations Website for IR students, providing a range of content including articles, blogs, essays and interviews.
• Eldis Information on and access to policy and research globally on international development issues.
• Global Policy Forum Scrutiny of UN and global policymaking on peace, security, social justice and international law.
• International Monetary Fund International financial organisation supporting global monetary cooperation, trade and poverty reduction.
• International Relations and Security Network Wide range of information tools and sources for researchers and students of IR and security studies.
• OECD Statistics, publications and analysis supporting policy action to improve economic and social well-being.
• United Nations News and documents of the lead body and agencies promoting global security and social progress.
• World Bank Data and analysis relating to the development bank's aim of poverty reduction by inclusive globalization.
• World Economic Forum Work of body engaging political and business leaders in jointly tackling global and regional issues.
• World Trade Organization Documents and resources from the main institution regulating and resolving global trade matters.

• AEI (Archive of European Integration) Online archive for research sources on European integration, including historic EU official documents.
• Council of Europe Organisation promoting co-operation between member European states to protect human rights, democracy and the rule of law.
• ESO (European Sources Online) Details of a wide range of information sources on EU affairs, with links to freely available items.
• EurActiv Independent multilingual online network reporting and commenting on EU news and policy debates.
• Europa Official EU portal, giving access to institutions, policies, laws, statistics and official publications.
• European Elections Database Downloadable data on European national and EU elections since 1979, enabling comparative analysis.
• Find-eR Details of print and online items in EU Commission libraries (electronic access restricted to Reading subscriptions).
• Open Europe Analysis and commentary by independent think tank on EU institutional and policy matters.
• The Parliament Magazine News and commentary on contemporary EU issues and developments.
• POLITICO (Europe edition) Online news resource reporting on developments in European politics.

• Congress.gov Official information and documentation relating to the activities of the US Federal legislature.
• POLITICO (US edition) Online news resource reporting on developments in American politics.
• US Government Printing Office Access to Federal publications through FDsys and the Catalog of US Government publications.
• The White House News, policies and pronouncements direct from the US executive branch of government.

• EUROPEAN COMMISSION   EC site in English
• INTER-PARLIAMENTARY UNION
• OECD   Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development
• UNDP   United Nations Development Programme
• UNHCR   United Nations Refugee Agency
• WORLD BANK

• BEYOND INTRACTABILITY  
  Developed and maintained by the University of Colorado Conflict Information Consortium
• ICONS PROJECT  
  Creates simulations and scenario-driven exercises to advance participants' understanding of complex problems and strengthen their ability to make decisions, navigate crises, think strategically, and negotiate collaboratively
• PROGRAM ON NEGOTIATION – HARVARD LAW SCHOOL  
  A university consortium dedicated to developing the theory and practice of negotiation and dispute resolution
• INDEPENDENT DIPLOMAT
  Non-profit advisory group providing advice and assistance in diplomatic strategy and technique to governments, political groups, international organisations and NGOs
• FRONTLINE DIPLOMACY
  Provides access to interview transcripts from the oral history archives of the Association for Diplomatic Studies and Training at the Library of Congress focusing on the lives of US diplomats and diplomatic issues faced by the US in recent history 
• G.R. BERRIDGE
  Homepage of a freelance writer specializing in the theory and practice of diplomacy)
• FRANCE DIPLOMATIE
  French Foreign Ministry in English
• AVALON PROJECT – LILLIAN GOLDMAN LAW LIBRARY, YALE LAW SCHOOL
  Documents in international law, history, and diplomacy
• US DEPARTMENT OF STATE

• APSA (American Political Science Association) Professional organisation promoting the study of political science.
• BISA (British International Studies Association) Learned society for the study of international studies and politics.
• Brookings Institution Noted American non-profit public policy research organisation.
• Chatham House Royal Institute of International Affairs, a leading research body.
• EPSA (European Political Science Association) Professional association promoting political science in Europe.
• IISS (International Institute for Strategic Studies) Renowned research body on peace, security and military conflict.
• IPSA (International Political Science Association) Body aiming to foster an inclusive, global political science network.
• PSA (Political Science Association) Lead UK association developing and promoting the study of politics.
• RUSI (Royal United Services Institute) Independent think tank engaged in defence and security research.