Humanities & Social Sciences Research Guide: History

• Journal Rankings on History
• Journal Rankings on History and Philosophy of Science

• AMERICAN MEMORY – LIBRARY OF CONGRESS   A primary source providing open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience
• Center for American History
• A special collections library, archive, and museum that facilitates research on the historic development of the United States.
• Conversations with History 
• Interviews with a broad range of historical figures from the latter half of the twentieth century.
• Digital History
• A comprehensive collection of electronic resources which deal with the study of American civilization.
• History Central Catalogue, WWW-Virtual Library
• Comprehensive general guide for history-related Web sites, in four main categories: History by Continent, History by Eras and Epochs, History by Topic, and Methods & Materials. From the European University Institute, Florence, Italy.
• INTERNET HISTORY SOURCEBOOK PROJECT (NEW YORK, N.Y, USA)   A collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts
• US NATIONAL ARCHIVES   A primary source for US history

• 4000 Years of Women in Science 
• A Celebration of Women Writers
• Clendening History of Medicine Library: Nightingale Letters
• Contributions of 20th Century Women to Physics: Grand Unified Citation Compiler
• Duke Libraries: Women's Travel Diaries
• Female Heroes & Rulers
• Female Nobel Prize Laureates
• Heroine Worship
• Historical Text Archive: Women's History
• Historical Women of Philosophy
• Internet Women's History Sourcebook
• Shadow Story of the Millennium: Women
• Victorian Women -- Social History
• The Victorian Women Writers Project
• What did you do in the war, Grandma?
• Women's biographies: Distinguished Women of Past and Present
• Women's History - Biographies
• Women's Intellectual Contributions to the Study of Mind and Society
• Women in Traditional China | Asia Society
• Women Mathematicians
• Women Nobel Laureates
• Women Writers Resource Project
• The Works of Queen Elizabeth I
• American Women in Uniform, Veterans Too!
• Female Frontiers: Profiles of Frontierswomen
• The Feminist Chronicles
• The Handbook of Texas Online -- Women
• Museum of the City of San Francisco: Women and Women's Issues
• Places Where Women Made History: A National Register of Historic Places Travel Itinerary
• Temperance & Prohibition
• Women of Influence - Women of Influence - America.gov

The Britannia Lexicon of Medieval History

Encyclopedia of Women's History

Harpers Dictionary of Classical Antiquities (1898)

Original Historical Documents Online

• U.S. Newspaper Directory From the Library of Congress. This directory of newspapers published in the United States since 1690 can help identify what titles exist for a specific place and time, and how to access them. Use the options below to select a particular place and time, using keywords to locate specific titles. Titles currently listed: 152,145.
• Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers Newspaper images from 1880 to 1910 from the following states: California, District of Columbia, Florida, Kentucky, Minnesota, Nebraska, New York, Texas, Utah, and Virginia. A Library of Congress project. Site includes a link to the U.S. Newspapers Directory.
• Illinois Newspaper Project Database Newspaper titles which have been inventoried and cataloged by both the Down-State Illinois Newspaper Project, located at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, and the Chicago Illinois Newspaper Project, housed at the Chicago Historical Society.
• Anemi- Digital Library of Modern Greek Studies aims to provide simple and quick access to a rich collection of digitized material related to Modern Greek Studies. Apart from finding bibliographic information, the researcher can also browse the documents themselves in electronic form. Here you may find a great number of old and rare documents, as well as recent publications for which their creators allowed the digitization and free distribution over the Internet.