It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Humanities & Social Sciences Research Guide: Philosophy
An Open Access reference work, maintained and kept up to date to academics, and subject to peer review before publication. New research is added regularly, whilst older entries are archived. A valuable and popular resource, but be aware of inconsistencies.
This is a useful guide that is still worth a look, although Peter Suber stopped updating it in February 2003. The Noesis and Hippias guides he refers to have been cancelled due to funding problems, but if you scroll down past the search section you will find a helpful list of links.
PhilPapers is an index and bibliography of works in philosophy. It indexes books and journals and also monitors open access repositories and the personal websites of academic philosophers. It is linked to PhilEvents (a website listing philosophy events) and PhilJobs (philosophy-related job listings).
The International Berkeley Society (founded in 1975) holds meetings, conferences, and symposia, and publishes the results of scholarly research on both sides of the Atlantic. It has information, both old and new, about George Berkeley and his works.
This site gives its aims as to "promote, explore and defend the heroic and critical ethos of science through philosophical debate [and] critically explore and apply the work of Sir Karl Popper, a key figure in the defence of science". Gives information about the annual conference on the philosophy of Sir Karl Popper and has a list of links to other relevant sites.
This site gives its aims as promoting" the analysis, tradition, and dissemination of Wittgenstein's philosophy "and continuing" a philosophy which had strong roots in Austria (as well as in other countries): Analytic Philosophy (Wittgenstein) and philosophy of science (Vienna Circle)". Has information about the International Wittgenstein Symposia and links.
The site is maintained by the Department of Philosophy at the State University of New York at Buffalo. The site contains information on ontology, on the history of ontology, and on contemporary ontology and its applications. It will provide links to other ontology sites and announcements of relevant conferences and publications.
This is an electronic archive for self-archive papers (written by academics) in any area of psychology, neuroscience, and linguistics, and many areas of Computer Science. It is hosted by Southampton University and can be searched by topic or year.
Helpful site, based at the University of Arizona, consisting of David's own work and links to other resources in the philosophy of mind, philosophy of cognitive science, philosophy of artificial intelligence, and on consciousness in the sciences. Many of the entries are annotated with a brief summary. Most of the core areas of contemporary philosophy of mind are covered. There is also a list of links to Philosophical humour.
This catalogue is a collection of 631 detailed biographies on members of the scientific community during the 16th and 17th centuries, with vital facts about each individual and their contributions to science.
Created by Paul Vincent Spade (Professor of Philosophy at Indiana University). Has pdf-files (often from Spade's own teaching resources), which introduce major philosophical issues from the Middle Ages, and a links page.
An abridged online version of the Thesaurus Lingue Graecae, providing free access to the works of authors such as Euripides, Demosthenes and Plato, among others. Please note that while access is free you need to create an account and login to use the Abridged version.
One of a series of subject information gateways forming part of Academic Info, a directory of Internet resources tailored to a higher education audience. Each subject guide is an annotated listing of the best general Internet sites in the field, as well as a gateway to more advanced research tools. Includes links to online publications, language and study aids, reference materials, database archives, virtual libraries, tutorials, as well as other educational materials. Compiled in the United States and has a strong American bias.
Has over 13,000 categorized links to philosophy resources on the Internet, plus several additional features. Regularly updated, with a "what is new" section. You can also subscribe to an "Update Newsletter".
Provides links to Internet resources relevant to research in philosophy. This has a useful section on individual philosophers as well as more general resources. Maintained at the University of California.