Skip to Main Content

Bissell Library: News

New Trial Databases @Bissell Library

by Dimitris Mpaltzis on February 1st, 2021 in Bissell Library, Business, Economics, General reference, Website | 0 Comments

Bissell Library is happy to announce that new trial databases are now available for a limited period. 


Academic Search Premier covers the expansive academic disciplines offered in colleges and universities. It provides comprehensive content, including PDF backfiles and searchable cited references. A multi-disciplinary database that provides over 4,750 full-text journals including over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.

The industry's most widely used business research database, Business Source Premier features full text and searchable cited references for top journals covering a variety of business disciplines. With premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals, this database is an essential tool for business students. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more.

To access the databases simply log in with your ACT credentials. Contact us if you need any help on how to use them.

 

International Education Week 2020 @ACT

by Dimitris Mpaltzis on November 17th, 2020 | 0 Comments

International Education Week is here!

Bissell Library is hosting two creative events on the Bissell Library Facebook Page.

On Monday, 16th Nov., 2020 we are expecting to receive your videos via the "Calling All Chefs" competition!!

 

 

On Wednesday, 18th Nov., 2020 we are looking forward to receiving your posts for your favorite "Poets and Authors" competition. Upload your videos and quotes, tag the Bissell Library Facebook Page and win a pair of headphones!

 

 

Upload a photo or a video, tag the Bissell Library Facebook page and win!!

Closed in response to COVID-19

by Dimitris Mpaltzis on November 3rd, 2020 in Bissell Library | 0 Comments

Following the directive of the Greek Government (Ministry of Education and Ministry of Health), the entire ACT campus and the Bissell Library building will be closed to all students and the general public until further notice

During this period the Bissell's Library physical spaces are closed, however, we will continue to operate our online regular services.

You can access all our online content and databases from Bissell's Online Library.  During this period circulation of books and other print content is suspended. All due dates are being extended and fines will not be charged

For any inquiries, you may contact us at: bissell@act.edu

 

For the latest information and developments you can consult our website at:

https://www.act.edu/covid19

Stay safe and keep reading.

Staff Services online 

Days

Bissell Library’s Spaces

 Staff Services (Online) Meet online with a Librarian

Monday-Friday

 9:00 am - 2:00 pm

9:00 am - 2:00 pm

11:00 am- 1:00 pm
Saturday CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
Sunday CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED

The secret world of podcasts...

by Dimitris Mpaltzis on October 13th, 2020 in Bissell Library, Study Skills | 0 Comments

Did you know that you can listen to Podcasts on the go, when walking, running, cooking, cleaning,    gardening, etc.?

Well now you do...

You can find out how, by visiting Bissell Library's table, in front of the library, from 1:00pm till 2:00pm  today, Tuesday October 13th 2020.

In the following links you can find some guidelines on how to listen to podcasts and how to use the  required apps on your device.

 1. How to download podcasts and listen to them on Android or iOS

 2. How To Download Podcasts On iPhone: The Simple Guide!

 3. List of suggested podcasts- from our Stay@Home Resources for the Anatolia College   Community & Friends guide

 

Stay safe! 

Library Opens again!

by Liza Vachtsevanou on September 7th, 2020 | 0 Comments

The Bissell Library is open again for the registered students, faculty and staff taking all safety measures.

Entrance is not allowed to third parties. In exceptional cases when a face to face meeting is needed this will take place only with a pre-arranged appointment and following all necessary measures.

Please call us for further information at 2310 398-390.

Borrowing and returning of books will take place under specific guidelines. Books and other materials will be returned in the library’s book return boxes and be quarantined before circulating or shelving.

All library users need to wear a mask and ensure social distancing while in the library.

 
 

Summer closure

by Eva Katrinaki on August 3rd, 2020 | 0 Comments
Bissell Library will be closed from 03 August until 21 August. 

New Scanning Service from the Bissell Library

by Eva Katrinaki on June 9th, 2020 | 0 Comments

This is to inform you of a new development with regard to the service we provide to students
who are in need of print book(s). In the event that a student makes contact, either with us or
their instructor, to request a print book, we will provide a scanning service.
That is to say, if a student needs to have access to print books(s), since we are not allowed to
check them out to patrons, the library staff will scan the contents page of each book
requested, and send it via email to the student to select the chapter(s)/section(s) they require.
Then, the respective chapters will be scanned and saved as .pdf files to send to the student.
Up to 10% of any book is copyright free to distribute for educational reasons.
The requests will be reviewed and priority will be given to students requesting scanning for their
thesis project. 

Closed in response to COVID-19

by Nikos Finos on March 11th, 2020 | 0 Comments
Following the directive of the Greek Government (Ministry of Education and Ministry of Health), the entire ACT campus and the Bissell Library building, will be closed to all students and the general public until further notice
During the period the Bissell's Library physical spaces are closed however, we will continue to operate  our online regular services.
You can access all our online content and databases from Bissell's Online Library.  During this period circulation of books and other print content is suspended. All due dates are being extended and fines will not be charged
For any inquiries you may contact us at: bissell@act.edu

For the latest information and developments you can consult our website at:
Stay safe and keep reading.
 
Staffed Services online 
Days  Bissell Library’s Spaces  Staffed Services (Online)
Monday - Friday CLOSED 9:30 am - 5:30 pm
Saturday CLOSED CLOSED
Sunday CLOSED CLOSED

 

Eli Trimi: "Moments" Retrospective Exhibition

by Stella Asderi on May 9th, 2019 | 0 Comments

​Retrospecitve exhibition by Dr Eli Trimi.

A retired Professor of Visual Arts and Aesthetic Education and also an author on numerous books and articles on Art. She has participated in many conferences on Education in Greece and abroad. She has had nine (9) solo and approximately eighty (80) group exhibits in Greece, Cyprus and the Unites States.

Part of her artwork belongs to private collections in Greece, USA, Scotland and Holland.

Her art includes watercolors, pastels, drawings, acrylics, mixed techniques and engravings.

Hello, you have an appointment!

by Stella Asderi on November 12th, 2018 | 0 Comments

  The Bissell Library and the Learning Hub have a new appointment system! 

  Do you have an assignment but you feel overwhelmed with source selection and evaluation? Aren't you able to find the right sources for your research topic? Do you want to make sure there are no grammatical errors in your paper which will lead to loss of points from your final grade? 

  Don't worry! We are here to help you! Make sure that there is time available for you by booking an appointment with the Library staff or the Learning Hub tutors accordingly. 
  The meetings with the Library staff are scheduled to last for up to one hour and Learning Hub meetings are scheduled for 30 minutes. Don't forget to add the reason of your booking so that the staff is prepared to answer your questions more effectively.

You may find all the available time slots per staff/tutor per semester at the webpage below:

 

 

  Search this Blog


  Recent Posts


New Trial Databases @Bissell Library
International Education Week 2020 @ACT
Closed in response to COVID-19
The secret world of podcasts...
Library Opens again!
Summer closure
New Scanning Service from the Bissell Library

  Subscribe


Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive


  Subjects


Bissell Library
Business
Economics
General reference
Geography
Reading promotion
Study Skills
Website

  Follow Us


  Facebook
  Instagram